Library databases search across a variety of information formats (books, news articles, magazine articles, media, technical reports, etc.), but a bulk of the information indexed in these databases typically includes scholarly articles, which are published in scholarly journals. In this context, "scholarly article" means a research-based article written by researchers to communicate new findings, analyses, or discussions with other researchers. Most types of scholarly articles are peer reviewed by other subject experts prior to being published.
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present
Citations, abstracts, and full text access to information on the effects of interventions in health care. Includes systematic reviews of randomized controlled trials, summaries of systematic reviews, reports from health technology assessment organizations, economic evaluations of health care interventions, and more. Updated quarterly.
The best resource for psychology related topics in journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and reports. Published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Coverage: 1887-present.
Articles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts database which focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1952-present.
Extensive research resource for life science and biomedical information. Content includes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and patents. Subjects include botany, zoology, microbiology, pharmacology, genetics, medicine, and more.
Citation analysis tools are provided. Coverage 1926 to present
Multidisciplinary collection of citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, proceedings, data sets, and other resources. Has a tool for citation analysis. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, among others.
Allows simultaneous searching of Web of Science (including Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Biosis (Biological Abstracts), and Zoological Record. Provides coverage of current literature and cited reference searching in science, engineering, and the social sciences, with comprehensive coverage of the biological literature. Coverage varies by database.
This link opens in a new window