Iberian Studies

The collection contains photocopies of articles, publications, and sections of publications, as well as bibliographical notes, handwritten notes, correspondence, and microfilm relating to Perry’s research for his dissertation on art patronage in colonial Mexico. Much of the material focuses on Bishop Juan de Palafox y Mendoza and the Cathedral at Puebla, Mexico.

The collection contains selected Spanish documents copied from the Archivo General de La Nación and other archives in Mexico City, with related transcriptions and notes. The collection is mainly focused on the colonial history of New Mexico and New Spain, with some materials for the Caribbean, Latin America and the U.S. Borderlands.

The collection contains selected Spanish documents copied from the Archivo General de Indias and other archives in Spain, the Vatican Library, and U.S. Libraries, with related transcriptions and notes. Mainly focused on the colonial history of New Mexico and New Spain, with some materials for the Caribbean, Latin America, Philippines, and the U.S. Borderlands.

contains nine New Mexico documents providing a view of social classes, children, mestizos, servants, democratic government, defense, Indian attacks, and economic, tax, environment and property issues.

provides documents about the unavailability of the holy sacraments to area Hispanics and Indians, poor prison conditions, Pueblo land losses, social classes, military and economic troubles and suggestions to the Spanish King for remedies.

includes Spanish and Mexican era documents that address social, government, judicial, economic, land and water issues

includes disputes and claims by Pueblos of New Mexico for lands, water, etc. This collection is available in UNM CSWR Indian Affairs New Mexico Digital Collection.

contains personal, business, political, legal and land grant papers and maps. Some land records and historic maps have been digitized.

This collection, compiled by Julius Seligman, contains documents regarding the sale and purchase of land in Sandoval County, New Mexico, in and around Bernalillo, Algodones, Placitas, Santa Ana Pueblo, San Felipe Pueblo, and Jemez Pueblo. Hispanics and some Native Americans Pueblos were involved in transactions, with Spanish Protector de los Indios.

provides descriptions, with demographic data from 1794, on various New Mexico communities - both Spanish and Pueblos. In Spanish, with transcription.

consists of administrative, civil, military, and ecclesiastical records of the Spanish colonial government in New Mexico, 1621-1821. Records cover both the local and provincial levels, and include correspondence between officials in Santa Fe and Mexico. Few pre-Revolt documents are contained in this collection. Significant documents from the Pueblo Revolt period (1680-1693) include Antonio de Otermin's 1681 journal of the attempted reconquest of New Mexico, and various administrative and judicial records for the exiled government in El Paso del Norte, Diego de Vargas' journal of the 1692-1693 reconquest and the subsequent re-establishment of Spanish government through 1691. Also included are accusations of the Cabildo of Santa Fe and a series of depositions against Vargas in 1697-1698, together with numerous administrative, military, and judicial records reflect the political and social turmoil of the post-revolt period. The materials over the next 120 years of Spanish rule span a broad range of subjects, revealing information about such topics as domestic relations, political intrigue, crime and punishment, material culture, the Camino Real, relations between Spanish settlers and Native Americans, the intrusion of Anglo-Americans, and the growing unrest that resulted in Mexico's independence from Spain in 1821.

a registry of masses, both sung and said, at the Convento Nuestro Padre San Francisco in the Ciudad Real de Guatemala. Within the text, the convent is also referred to as San Antonio. The first section of the book is dedicated to the enumeration of specific masses recited at the convent, while the second half deals with those masses which were sung. In addition to the actual registration of masses given each month, the book contains the names of the priests that performed the masses, the number and type of masses each month and the names of the Church officials certifying the information. The registry was used continually between the years 1794 and 1817. According to the signed affidavit at the end of the text, the registry was discovered at the convent forgotten and full of dust 15 June 1892.

This collection contains papers of Jane C. Sanchez, a historian and playwright in New Mexico. The materials relate to her research primarily regarding land grants, colonial history, Spanish and Mexican law, and storylines for theatrical and movie productions

As one of the leading historians of New Mexico and the Spanish Southwest, John L. Kessell conducted extensive research in these areas. This collection includes photocopies of some of the primary source materials he used for his scholarship, as well as notes, correspondence, manuscripts, and other research materials.

The France V. Scholes Papers contain research and teaching notes, maps and correspondence about the colonial history of Mexico, Yucatan and New Mexico, with some related material about the Caribbean, Central and Latin America. The collection also includes academic and personal information.

This collection contains groups of legal documents relating to the properties of the Arratia, Beltran, Calera, Cubero, Martinez, Monrreal, Piña, and Roldan families of Zacatecas, Mexico, dating from 1647 to 1759. A town and municipality in the state of Zacatecas carriesthe name Calera. The brother of Jose Beltran de Barnuevo, Father Luis Beltran was a famed author of sermons and religious poetry. Among the types of documents represented in the collection are wills, inventories of properties, receipts, declarations, claims, certificates. The collection provides insight into the systems of inheritance, accumulation of wealth, and distribution of properties in the mid-seventeenth to mid-eighteenth centuries in the rich mining area of Zacatecas, Mexico.

This collection contains badly faded reproductions of “Mapa de Cuauhtlantzinco,” a seventeenth-century Mexican codex also called Codex Campos. The Mapa tells the story of an Indian cacique named Tepoztecatzin and his experiences during the Conquest of Mexico including the introduction of Christianity to his village. The original Mapa, consisting of 44 oil paintings of European paper, each 30 x 40 cm., was discovered in 1836 by the Padre D. José Vicente Campos.

The majority of the materials in this collection were written or acquired in Mexico by Paul Van de Velde during his term of diplomatic service for the Belgian government from around 1910 to 1940. The materials were primarily collected in Oaxaca during his tenure there. Included are correspondence, newspaper clippings, legal and government documents, pamphlets, and flyers. Materials are in English and Spanish. The collection is divided according to the format of the material (bound, un¬bound, handwritten manuscripts, etc.)

The collection consists of one register of the clients of José Mariano Cardenas, Public Defender in Mexico, perhaps Mexico City, between the years 1798 and 1806. Clients’ names, charges against them, and dispositions are included; civil and criminal cases are registered. The register is written in Spanish.

Richard Greenleaf’s papers deal with major people and events during the initial decades of Spanish presence in Mexico, as noted in the topics described below. The collection mainly consists of typed Spanish transcriptions and English translations of colonial documents made by Professor Greenleaf over his five decades of teaching, research and publication on the colonial history of Mexico. The documentary material was drawn mainly from the Archivo General de Indias of Seville and the Archivo General de la Nación of Mexico City.

Black and white photographs of Spanish Colonial art: sculpture, religious architecture, and painting. The smaller prints include 35 mm negatives of Puerto Rican Santos. Others images were made in Mexico, Central, and South America and used in the book, Baroque and Rococco in Latin America by Pál Kelemen. Elisabeth Zulauf Kelemen took the photographs

The collection is divided into three series. Project files contain correspondence, notes, research material, draft manuscripts, citations and records of office operations. The original filing system and file titles have been maintained. Archival documents include photocopies of colonial documents with corresponding control cards, transcriptions, translations and research notes. Many of these documents are from archives in Spain, Mexico and the United States and are difficult or impossible to access. These archives include Archivo General de Notarías del Distrito Federal (Mexico City), Archivo Histórico de Protocolos (Madrid), Archivo del Marqués de la Nava de Barcinas (Madrid), Archivo de Rafael Gasset Dorado (Madrid), Archivo General del Ministerio de Justicia (Spain), Archivo de Notarías de Torrelaguna (Spain), Archivo Histórico de Parral (Chihuahua), and Ritch Collection (Huntington Library, CA). The photocopied documents and transcriptions/translations from these archives are not only valuable in relation to this project, but could offer additional historical information for researchers of the period. Archives research material includes loose transcriptions, bibliographies, document lists and notes, archival resource guides and indexes, hard to find academic journal articles and genealogies.