Permalinks

Directions on how to located permalinks on the UNM University Libraries Databases and Catalog

What is a Persistant URL?

A persistent url (PURL), or permalink, is a web address that will provide a direct and stable link to the full text of an article or other information source licensed by the University Libraries. This allows all users to share library resources in a way that items can always be relocated. In addition to the link to the database, PURLs can also be created to be accessed by UNM affiliates on or off campus.

To ensure that permalink works off campus, is should go through the UNM University Libraries' proxy server. this can be accomplished by adding the proxy link to the beginning of a permalink. The proxy link is:

http://libproxy.unm.edu/login?url=

While every database does not use permalinks, we have tried to provide directions in the most commonly used databases at UNM in the tabs above.

How do I create it?

The process of creating stable links vary from resource to resource.

  • Step-by-step directions for creating permalinks for the major platforms for electronic resources licensed by the University Libraries are provided in the tabs above.
  • Generally it is:
    • locating the permalink creator in the database
    • adding the proxy server prefix (if it has not been added already)

What about DOI?

A DOI, or Digital Object Identifier, is a string of numbers, letters and symbols used to permanently identify an article or document and link to it on the web. It is assigned by a registration agency (the International DOI Foundation) to identify content and provide a persistent link to its location on the Internet. The publisher assigns a DOI when your article is published and made available electronically. All DOI numbers begin with a 10 and contain a prefix and a suffix separated by a slash.

The DOI website is https://www.doi.org/  while you can find any article at this site, it will not direct you to the copy of the article that UNM University Libraries has paid for as part of it's electronic journal subscriptions.  There is still a way to use a DOI to find an article in the UNM Univeristy holdings, see the "Web of Science/DOI" tab above for more details.

 

Why should I use it?

When the library's catalog and databases are searched the web addresses (URLs) that appear in the address bar of your web browser are often specific to that search session and will expire. 

  • Copying the browser bar are not a reliable way to relocate the item
  • Using a permalink is the best way to find a record again in the system. 
  • Permalinks makes it easy to share records with other persons at the University.
  • Part of building a permalink to library material includes adding information to go through the UNM library proxy server. Going through the proxy server allows users from off campus to easily log in through UNM and access the material.  
  • Finally to comply with copyright laws, it is recommended that you link to an article in your online course or website using a stable link instead of uploading the PDF or text file.
  • This also helps the University Libraries understand which of our resources are being used so we can best provide for the needs of the university community.

Other names

Permalinks are also called:

  • Document URL
  • Durable link
  • Stable link
  • Permanent link
  • Persistent identifier
  • PURLs