Research Guides: Newspapers (New Mexico): Historical Newspapers

Frequently used Newspapers

Albuquerque Journal

Digitally 1882-1977 in NewspaperARCHIVE.com (see below)
Digitally 1994-current in New Mexico Newspapers (see below)
Only on microfilm 1978-1993 (library catalog record).

-------------------------

Albuquerque Tribune

Only on microfilm 1933-2008 (library catalog record)

-------------------------

Santa Fe New Mexican

Digitally 1849-2015 in NewspaperARCHIVE.com (see below)
Digitally 1994-current is available in Global Newsstream (see below)

NM Historical Newspapers Databases

NewspaperARCHIVE.com US Collection This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspaper articles from US newspapers, including several New Mexican newspaper titles from the late 19th century and 20th century. Coverage varies by Newspaper: 1759-present.
New Mexico Newspaper Project This link opens in a new window
Database of New Mexico newspapers with mostly descriptive information about the newspapers and where copies are available. Indicates whether they are microfilm or in print. Includes information on locations of New Mexico newspapers published from 1844 to the present.
Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the University of New Mexico University Libraries. Additional funding provided by the UNM Center for Regional Studies and Friends of the UNM Libraries, Inc. This is a free website. ;
Chronicling America – Historic NM Newspapers This link opens in a new window
As part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), over 80 New Mexico newspapers have been digitized.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Articles from international, national, and regional newspapers, newswires, and news sites.Includes the Santa Fe New Mexican, 1994-current, and Taos News, 2006-current. It includes access to major United States newspapers, such as, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal. Coverage 1980-present.
New Mexico Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from the Albuquerque Journal (coverage: 1995-current), Las Cruces Sun-News (coverage: 2004-current), and Roswell Daily Record (coverage: 2002-current).

Historical Newspapers in Print

Spanish-language newspapers:

New Mexico Newspapers in Spanish
List of historical titles cataloged for the New Mexico Newspaper Project. Locate microfilm in the UNM Library catalog.

Native newspapers:

Many Native American newspapers published in New Mexico are available in the UNM Library. For historical titles, do a search in the Library Catalog (see above) or a specific publication or use a subject term such as Navajo newspapers or Indians of North America New Mexico newspapers

Microfilm:

Many historical New Mexico newspapers are available only on microfilm, most of which is stored in the basement of Zimmerman Library. Search for newspapers in the Library Catalog (see above) by entering a paper title, or a place of publication followed by the word newspapers.

"What newspaper was published in [town] in [date]?"

The best resource for answering this question is the U. S. Newspaper Directory from the Library of Congress. After you have entered a search term and brought up a catalog record, click Libraries that have it in the blue bar at the top of the record. If it is not available at UNM, this will tell you where to look. Be aware that many historical newspapers, especially ones from small towns, have not survived or are missing many issues.

Historical Newspapers Databases

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of newspapers from mainstream news sources and African-American news sources. Publication include Chicago Tribune (1849-1994); Los Angeles Times (1881-1994); New York Times (1851-2014); Washington Post (1877-2001); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Civil War era titles, and other newspapers from around the United States. Coverage: 1800s-2005.
America's Historical Newspapers (Early American Newspapers Series 1 - 9) This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of newspapers. Includes newspapers published in North America between 1690 and 1922, African American newspapers published from 1827 to 1998, and Hispanic American newspapers published from 1808 to 1980.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains selected newspapers from most states with especially strong coverage from the following states: Arizona, California, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Washington. Coverage: 1880 to 1922
New York Times (1851 - 3 years ago) This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper articles, including photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, and editorial cartoons. Coverage: 1851 - three years ago.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
New Mexico newspapers, historical US imprints and newspapers, African American and Hispanic newspapers, foreign broadcast information, Latin American newspapers. Coverage: 1690 - present

United States Newspaper Panel, 1869-2004
Contains data on US daily newspapers from 1869 and every presidential year from 1872 to 2004. The data includes information on newspaper political affiliation, party endorsement, circulation, subscription price, advertising price, content, publications times, and publisher.