Research Guides: Resources for Native American Graduate Students : Library Collections and Resources

Selected Books

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Staff (Editor)
Call Number: ZIM REF 253 .U69 2003
The Complete Guide to Citing Government Information Resources by Diane L. Garner; Diane H. Smith; Debora Cheney (Contribution by); Helen Sheehy (Contribution by)
Call Number: ZIM REF Z7164 G7 G37 1993
The Elements of Style by William Strunk; E. B. White; Roger Angell (Foreword by)
Call Number: ZIM REF PE1408 S772 2000
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Joseph Gibaldi; Modern Language Association of America Staff
Call Number: ZIM REF LB2369 .G53 2009
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: ZIM REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 .P83 2010

American Indian Religious Traditions by Suzanne J. Crawford (Editor); Dennis Francis Kelley (Editor)
Call Number: ZIM REF E98.R3 C755 2005
Encyclopedia of American Indian History by Bruce E. Johansen (Editor); Barry M. Pritzker (Editor)
Call Number: ZIM REF E77 .E48 2008
Encyclopedia of Native American Bows, Arrows and Quivers by Steve Allely; Jim Hamm
Call Number: ZIM REF E98 A65 A45 1999

American Indian Biographies by Carole A. Barrett (Editor); Harvey Markowitz (Editor); R. Kent Rasmussen (Editorial Coordinator); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: ZIM REF E98 .A46 2005
Biographical Dictionary of Indians of the Americas by Marion E. Gridley (Illustrator)
Call Number: ZIM REF E89 B56 1991
Native American Women by Gretchen M. Bataille (Editor); Laurie Lisa (Editor)
Call Number: ZIM REF E98 W8 B38 2001

1925 School Census of New Mexico Indian children by Karen Stein. Daniel
Call Number: ZIM REF E78.N65 D36 2008
The American Indian Language and Literature by Jack W. Marken (Compiled by)
Call Number: PM181 M27 1978
Archaeology of Prehistoric Native America by Guy E. Gibbon (Editor)
Call Number: ZIM REF E77.9 A72 1998
Directory of Oral History Collections by Allen Smith
Call Number: D16.14 S54 1988
Handbook of Native American Mythology by Dawn E. Bastian; Judy K. Mitchell
Call Number: ZIM REF E98.R3 B26 2004
Handbook of North American Indians by Smithsonian Institution
Call Number: ZIM REF E77 .H25
Indian Foods and Fibers of Arid America by Walter Ebeling
Call Number: ZIM REF E78 W5 E34 1986
Indigenous Languages of the Americas by Robert Singerman
Call Number: PM108 S55 1996
Native American Flags by Donald T. Healy; Peter J. Orenski; Carl Waldman (Foreword by)
Call Number: ZIM REF E98.M34 H43 2003
Native American genealogical resources for New Mexico by Karen Stein. Daniel, New Mexico Genealogical Society.
Call Number: ZIM REF E78.N65 D36 2008
The Navajo As Seen by the Franciscans, 1898-1921 by Howard M. Bahr (Editor)
Call Number: ZIM REF E99.N3 N385 2004
This Day in North American Indian History by Philip Konstantin
Call Number: ZIM REF E77.6 K66 2002

Atlas of the North American Indian by Carl Waldman; Molly Braun (Illustrator)
Call Number: E77 W195 1985 c.1
Indian Placenames in America by Sandy Nestor
Call Number: ZIM REF E98.N2 N47 2003
Native American Placenames of the United States by William Bright
Call Number: ZIM REF E98.N2 .B75 2004
The Navajo Atlas by James M. Goodman; Mary E. Goodman (Introduction by)
Call Number: ZIM REF G1497 N3 G6 1982
Tribal Names of the Americas by Patricia Roberts Clark
Call Number: ZIM REF E54.5 .C55 2009
Work, Identity, and Legal Status at Rome by Sandra R. Joshel
Call Number: CSWR F396 .B85 2013 c.1
A Zuni Atlas by T. J. Ferguson; Ronald Stauber (Illustrator); Troy Lucio (Illustrator)
Call Number: ZIM REF G1496 E1 F4 1985

American Ethnic Writers by David R. Peck (Editor); Tracy Irons-Georges (Editorial Coordinator)
Call Number: ZIM REF PS153 M56 A414 2000
A Broken Flute by Doris Seale (Editor); Crystal Salas-Patten (Contribution by); Margaret Sam-Cromarty (Contribution by); Dennis McAuliffe (Contribution by); Marlene R. Atleo (Contribution by); Linda L. Baldwin (Contribution by); Maria Beardslee (Contribution by); Lois Beardslee (Contribution by); Raven Hoaglen (Contribution by); S. Sethlyn Honeycutt (Contribution by); Coral R. Johnson (Contribution by); Reva Maria S. Gover (Contribution by)
Call Number: ZIM REF E77.4 .B76 2005
Dictionary of Native American Literature by Andrew Wiget (Editor)
Call Number: CSWR PM155 D53 1994
Native American Literatures by Kathy J. Whitson
Call Number: ZIM REF PS153 I52 W47 1999
Native North American Literature by Janet Witalec (Editor); Jeffery H. Chapman (Editor); Christopher Giroux (Editor)
Call Number: ZIM REF PS508 I5 N38 1994

Financial aid for Native Americans. by Reference Service Press
Call Number: ZIM REF LB2338 F5646
National Indian grant directory by Stacey. Jenkins
Call Number: ZIM REF HV89 .J46 2007
ISBN: 1929964250
Tribal archive, library and museum directory. by Alyce Sadongei, Arizona State Museum. , Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records. , Institute of Museum and Library Services (U.S.)
Call Number: ZIM REF E97.8 .T84 2005

American Indian Languages 1 by William Bright (Editor)
Call Number: ZIM REFPM 108 S26 1990
Analytical Lexicon of Navajo by Robert W. Young; William J. Morgan; Sally Midgette
Call Number: ZIM REF PM2007 Y724 1992
A bibliographical check list of North and Middle American Indian linguistics in the Edward E. Ayer collection. by Edward E. Ayer Collection, Ruth Lapham Butler
Call Number: ZIM REF PM108 E33 1941
A Concise Hopi and English Lexicon by Roy Albert (Compiled by); David Leedom Shaul (Compiled by)
English-Navajo Children's Picture Dictionary by Roman De Los-Santos
Call Number: ZIM REF PM2008 D45 1995
Hopi Dictionary by P. David Seaman
Call Number: ZIM REF PM1351 Z5 S4 1985
Hopi Dictionary by Kenneth C. Hill; Emory Sekaquaptewa; Mary E. Black; Ekkehart Malotki; University of Arizona Staff; Hopi Dictionary Project Staff
Call Number: ZIM REF PM1351.Z5 H66 1998
Navajo-English dictionary by C. Leon. Wall, William Morgan
Call Number: ZIM REF PM2008 .W3
Navajo/English Bilingual Dictionary by Alyse Neundorf
Call Number: ZIM REF PM2008 .N48 2005
Intended primarily for Navajo children learning to read and write the language in bilingual classrooms. this picture dictionary presents over 1,500 noun and 330 verb entries, all selected because they are words used in and around the school."
A Stem Vocabulary of the Navaho Language by Berard Haile
Call Number: ZIM REF PM2008 H26 1975
Western Apache-English Dictionary by Dorothy Bray (Editor); White Mountain Apache Tribe Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: ZIM REF PM2583 W47 1998
Western Apache dictionary by Edgar. Perry, White Mountain Apache Culture Center.
Call Number: ZIM REFPM 631 Z5 W47

American Indian Studies by Phillip M. White
Call Number: ZIM REF E77 W45 1995
Dine Bibliography to the 1990s by Howard M. Bahr
Call Number: ZIM REF E99 N3 B33 1999
Navajo bibliography : with subject index by J. Lee. Correll, Editha L. Watson, David M. Brugge
Call Number: ZIM REF E99 N3 C6 1969

Biographical and historical index of American Indians and persons involved in Indian affairs. by United States. Department of the Interior. Library., Eugenia. Langford, Anita S. Tilden
Call Number: ZIM REF E77 U494
Documents of American Indian Diplomacy by Vine Deloria; Raymond J. DeMallie
Call Number: ZIM REF KF8202 1999
ISBN: 9780806131184
Native Americans and the Law by Gary A. Sokolow
Call Number: ZIM REF KF8203.6 .S66 2000
Treaties with American Indians by Donald L. Fixico (Editor)
Call Number: ZIM REF KF8203.6 .T74 2008

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Former Name: Bibliography of Native North Americans. This resource covers all aspects of Native North American culture, history, and life. It covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
Includes citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. A research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal and medical researchers, linguists, theologians, ethnobotanists, and policy makers.
Coverage dates: 16th century-present.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals and magazines covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education on subjects including curriculum, administration, policy, multilingual education, health education and testing.
Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
Allows simultaneous searching of Web of Science (including Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Biosis (Biological Abstracts), and Zoological Record. Provides coverage of current literature and cited reference searching in science, engineering, and the social sciences, with comprehensive coverage of the biological literature. Coverage varies by database.

Center for Southwest Research - Archival Collections

Rocky Mountain Online Archive
The Rocky Mountain Online Archive is your source of information about archival collections at the CSWR and elsewhere. Specialized guides, called finding aids, give detailed descriptions of primary source materials located at twenty-seven New Mexico and regional repositories. Search the finding aids to discover what historical materials are available for study and where those collections are located. To limit your search to CSWR materials, select Advanced Search and then choose University of New Mexico Center for Southwest Research from the Institutions menu.

The Center for Southwest Research collects, preserves, and makes available materials to help document the culture and history of the various tribal communities in historical and contemporary times, from both Native and non-Native perspectives.

General Apache Collections Guide
General Pueblo Studies Collections Guide
Hopi Studies Collections Guide
Navajo Studies Collections Guide
Zuni Pueblo Collections Guide

<< Previous: Home
Next: Search Strategies >>