Celebrating the Right of Women to Vote in New Mexico

Journals

FINDING ARTICLES IN THE DATABASES FROM THE LIBRARY HOMEPAGE

Go to the Library Home page - there are a number of important databases available to help find articles in journals. (notice the alphabetical breakouts)

One of the journals with articles about the history of New Mexico women is the - New Mexico Historical Review. The NMHR, 1916 - present, is a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal published at the History Department of UNM. Hard copies of current and back issues and indexes for the NMHR are located at the CSWR.

You can also search the NMHR online via a database called - Periodical Online Archive (PAO).

Under Alpha P - find  Periodicals Online Archive - PAO. It searches the NMHR from 1926 to 2000 and is full text. Put a  simple search term in the search box. 

For publication type in - New Mexico Historical Review.  Good luck.

 

The Library homepage also has other useful databases, such as:

Under Alpha A is - America: History and Life - indexes journal articles, dissertations, book reviews, etc. on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada.

A: H & L includes current issues of the New Mexico Historical Review, El Palacio (from Museum of New Mexico, Santa Fe), Western Historical Quarterly, and other important Western journals. You can limited the search to women and specify Geographic area - New Mexico, etc.

Also under Alpha A - Academic Search Complete - all-around general search index for finding articles on diverse topics.

Under Alpha J is - JSTOR - contains the complete back files of more than 1,000 core scholarly journals in a variety of humanities, business, science and social science disciplines available in PDF format. A favorite of many researchers.

Under Alpha E - Ethnic Newswatch - has news from minority, ethnic and native presses in North America, 1960 to the present, some articles are historical, others cover contemporary issues.

 

Here are some journal articles for New Mexico women's history from the NMHR, El Palacio and Journal of the Southwest:

"Disfranchisement is a Disgrace:" Women and Politics in New Mexico, 1900-1940, by Jensen, Joan M. New Mexico Historical Review, Jan. 1981.  Link educational courtesy of the magazine.  Contact NMHR for copyright.

Women's Campaign for Equality: A National and State Perspective, by Necah Stewart Furman, New Mexico Historical Review, Oct. 1978. Link educational courtesy of the magazine. Contact NMHR for copyright.

Ethnicity, Gender, and Divorce: Issues in the 1922 Campaign by Adelina Otero-Warren for the U.S. House of Representatives, by Elizabeth Salas, New Mexico Historical Review, Oct. 1995. Link educational courtesy of the magazine. Contact NMHR for copyright.

Pioneers in Politics, by Joan M. Jensen, El Palacio, Summer/Fall 1986. Women in New Mexico politics 1880s-1890s. New Mexico Women's History Archive at New Mexico State University.

Statehood for Whom? New Mexico's Journey to Universal Voting Rights for Women, by Jason Shapiro, El Palacio, Fall 2012. 

Adelina "Nina" Otero-Warren:  A Spanish-American Cultural Broker, by Ann M. Massmann, Journal of the Southwest, U of Az, Vol. 42, Winter, 2000.