Research Guides: CELAC & English Language Learning: Find books & articles for research

Find Books

Search for books by using the UNM Library Catalog and following the steps below or take the short, interactive "Finding Books Tutorial".

Step 1:

Choose the "Books Only" tab from the library homepage. You can search by keyword, title, author, or call number. The default setting is to search libraries worldwide. This is because you can order books to borrow (for free) from interlibrary loan. The only catch is that you'll need to plan ahead to give the item time to ship. Unfortunately, we usually cannot ILL ebooks.

You can also limit to location. Are you looking for topics related to English literature and art? Try narrowing your search to the Fine Arts Library. Looking for historical editions? Select "Center for Southwest Research & Special Collections."

Step 2:

Further refine your list of results. Use the filters in the left-hand column to limit by date, language, and topic among others.

Find pro/con information for debates or controversial topics

These resources can help support your debate topic by identifying pro/con essays and articles about controversial topics.

Points of View Reference Center
Essays, scholarly journal articles, news articles and primary documents that present multiple perspectives on current and controversial topics. Helpful for debating, developing arguments, and writing position papers. Coverage: 2010-present.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.

Find articles on all topics

Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present

Library Catalog
Use the main search box on the library home page to find books and articles. Enter some keywords that relate to your topic. When your results display, use the LIMITS on the left to limit to just books or just articles or to a specific date range.

Google Scholar
An index of scholarly articles and books. Look for the Find@UNM link to access the full-text articles in University Libraries subscription databases. For books check the library catalog.

Google Scholar will link to some--not all--of the online resources to which the University Libraries subscribes. Use the "Check full text @ UNM" link to see if the resource is available through a UNM subscription. It may also be helpful to look up the journal or citation through UNM eJournals tool.

Find newspaper articles

Global Newsstream
Articles from international, national, and regional newspapers, newswires, and news sites. It includes access to major United States newspapers, such as, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal. Coverage 1980-present.
New York Times (1980 - current)
The national paper of record with domestic and international news. Coverage: 1980-present.

Finding Discipline Specific Articles

On the library home page, in the section labeled DATABASES, click on the drop-down box labeled BY SUBJECT and locate your discipline. After you select it, you will be presented with a list of specialized search engines that will help you identify articles related to that discipline.