Research Guides: Classical Studies: Databases & Articles

Primary Databases

Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
Specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations to publications in all aspects of the humanities.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Books covering histories across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics This link opens in a new window
A study of the ancient world with access to key primary source texts including new discoveries, interpretations, and theories.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations with over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. .

ATLA Religion This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journals, books, essays, reviews, and multimedia in the field of religion. Coverage: 1754-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete back files of more than 1000+ core scholarly journals in a variety of humanities, business, science and social sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations and extensive full text content for academic journal articles, magazine articles, reference sources, and multimedia.