Research Guides: Indigenous Nations Library Program Graphic: Indigenous Language Resources

Related Research Guides

Selected Databases

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
LLBA - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window

Center For Southwest Research Collections

The Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections (CSWR) specializes in interdisciplinary subjects relating to New Mexico, the Southwestern U.S., Mexico and Latin America, as well as rare materials from around the world. Our strengths include Native American, Chicano/Hispano, Latin American, Spanish Colonial, and environmental history, plus a wide range of locally published and archival materials documenting the region.

New Mexico's Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Digital images of state, national, and international collections held by New Mexico cultural heritage institutions, including The University of New Mexico. Collections contain documents, photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, art, interviews, and music.
New Mexico Archives Online (NMAO) This link opens in a new window
It provides access to finding aids for archival collections from 19 repositories across the state of New Mexico. The finding aids include information on the contents, historical context, creation, and organization of materials in the collections.

Selected Archive and Manuscript Collection

Inventory of the American Indian Oral History Collection, 1967-1972
The American Indian Oral History collection contains recorded interviews with and about Native Americans. There were 904 recordings collected by the University of New Mexico between 1967-1972. The bulk of the interviews contain oral traditions and recollections from Navajos and Pueblos. Transcripts are available for most of the recordings
Inventory of the Donald P. Jewell Maidu-Concow Indian Oral History Collection, 1963-1966
This collection consists of 51 cds containing oral interviews with Frank Day, Bryan Beavers and Leland Scott, members of the Maidu-Concow tribe
Inventory of the Robert W. Young Papers, 1850-2003(bulk 1823-1980)
This collection contains works and materials written and gathered by Robert W. Young, professor emeritus in linguistics at the University of New Mexico. Materials concern Navajo linguistics, BIA and Navajo tribal government records, customs, livestock, education, employment, natural resources, and other issues.
Inventory of the University of New Mexico Navajo Reading Study Records, 1940-1979
The Navajo Reading Study was conducted by the University of New Mexico and supported by grants from the Ford Foundation and contracts with the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the U.S. Office of Education. The purpose of the study was to investigate the feasibility and effect of teaching Navajo children to read their own language before learning to read English

Selected Books

Handbook of North American Indians by William C Sturtevant (Editor); Ives Goddard (Editor)
Call Number: E77 .H25 v.17
Native American Discourse by Joel Sherzer (Editor); Peter Burke (Contribution by); Ruth Finnegan (Contribution by); Anthony C. Woodbury (Editor)
Call Number: PM155 N38 1987
The Native American Oral Tradition by Lois J. Einhorn
Call Number: PM217 E37 2000
Rhetorics of the Americas by Damián Baca (Editor); Victor Villanueva (Editor)
Call Number: P301 .R4726 2010
Stabilizing Indigenous Languages by Gina Cantoni (Editor); Richard E. Littlebear (Preface by)
Call Number: PM202 .S73 1995

<< Previous: Indigenous Phoneme Representation