Architecture & Landscape Architecture

A library research guide for UNM's School for Architecture and Planning, which includes Architecture, Urbanism & Regional Design, Community and Regional Planning, Landscape Architecture, and Historic Preservation and Regionalism

Campus Resources

As a researcher within the School of Architecture & Planning, you have a wealth of resources available right here at UNM.

  • Centennial Science & Engineering Library: engineering, GIS, data-driven research, maps, technology, environmental science and geography resources.
  • Zimmerman Library: social sciences and humanities research. Also houses the Indigenous Nations Library Program which works with a number of departments and units across campus, including Community & Regional Planning. The Center for Southwest Research Special Collections and Archives is also housed in Zimmerman.
  • The Bureau for Business and Economic Research: provides economic data from a number of federal and national agencies, applied to New Mexico specifically. Included services: economic forecasting, economic and fiscal impact analysis, and research on community and regional development, resource management, land use and housing policy, cultural policy, and public health. New Mexico's lead agency in the Census Bureau's State Data Center program, serves as the state's primary source for economic, social, and demographic data. 

Libraries during the Covid-19 Emergency

Please keep in mind that the COVID-19 pandemic impacts our normal services, hours, and spaces. 

  • face maskUsually eating and drinking is permitted in most library spaces. However, no eating or drinking will be allowed in library buildings while mask requirements are in effect. This includes any items purchased at the Zimmerman Starbucks cafe. 
  • Library service desks will only be able help resolve quick questions at this time. Questions that take more than a couple of minutes to answer will be referred to our Ask A Librarian chat service or a consultation with a subject specialist librarian. 
  • During this time, please default to using virtual library services whenever possible. 

To see the most recent information and latest updates, visit the Covid-19 guide linked below. You can also use the Ask A Librarian FAQ or online chat service to double-check on the availability of library services, technology, or spaces. 

Covid-19: Options for Library Resources & Services

Research Consultation & Instruction

Research Consultations

We are here to help faculty, student, and community researchers to develop their research projects, from discovery through end product, including navigating image rights for publication and managing citations. We also assist in developing project plans that may require funding proposals and/or community collaborators.

  • Assistance with research question refinement
  • Researching topic areas, including searching and finding a wide variety of media formats
  • Documentation strategies and standards
  • Research area-specific repositories & archives
  • Strategies for planning the research process from start to finish

Reference Support

Working in research intensive disciplines like Architecture and Landscape Architecture requires delving into a wide variety of resources across media, related disciplines, and hard to find resources like journals, archives, and data. The Fine Arts & Design Library Public Services team in the University Libraries is here to help you in your research activities.

  • Locating resources, like books, archives and media for use in proposals, research projects and instructional programs
  • Evaluation tools, technologies and strategies for citation management, instruction, and more
  • Identifying both on- and off-campus collaborators and resources

Instruction and Training

Architecture and Landscape Architecture are are continuously evolving disciplines in which continuous learning and practice of new skills and strategies is the norm. I will work with you to provide training and instruction for classes, groups and individuals in a wide variety of subject areas.

Credit courses:

  • Research Methods
  • Precedent Studies
  • Studio Courses
  • Intro Courses

General and Custom Instruction & Training Sessions:

  • disciplinary methods and approaches
  • documentation & citation
  • collaboration tools

Intro to the Fine Arts & Design Library

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Welcome to the Fine Arts and Design Library!

Here, you'll find panoramic vistas from the top floor of the Architecture building. You'll also find group and individual study spaces, computer labs, a smart classroom, scanners and printers. We have a variety of technology loaded onto our computers so that you can more efficiently complete your studio work. We also have laptops, headphones, and more for checkout at the front desk.

 

We hope you'll find a home here - whether for respite, research, or study!

Exhibit space sketched in watercolor

 

Beyond the Fine Arts and Design Library, did you know that you have unrestricted access to all of the libraries at UNM?!

 

  • Visit Centennial to find maps, construction resources, technical specifications, sustainability resources, and sources about the material design
  • Visit the Center for Southwest Research to access local and regional records and maps about water rights, land use, land grants, archives, Route 66, and UNM's extensive Latin American collections.
  • While you're in Zimmerman, ask about UNM's government documents, or access sources pertaining to sociology, psychology, critical theory, film, or literature. Many books cross over with Anthropology, Sociology, History, and other subjects, and may be held in their collections. So if they aren't at FADL, be sure to check Zimmerman
  • Remember that exhibits are abundant around campus - and not just at galleries and museums!
  • And remember, you can access our electronic resources, from ebooks to electronic journal articles and images, anytime via library.unm.edu.

Fine Arts Librarian for Art, Architecture & Planning

Stephanie Beene's picture
Stephanie Beene
Contact:
George Pearl Hall, Top Floor: Fine Arts & Design Library (Room 435)
Website

related subject guides