Research Guides: History: Scholarly Articles & Journals

Search for a Specific Journal

Top History Databases

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World history including military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Indexing of scholarly journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Coverage: 1450-present.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history and culture which includes scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, reference sources, and other documents and multimedia. Coverage: prehistoric times to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive archive of multidisciplinary scholarly journals and books. Coverage: 1800s to 3-5 years ago; Includes ARTstor - images across the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching. Coverage: ancient times to today.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides digital humanities and social sciences books and scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Coverage 1900s-present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A resource of scholarly journals, books, and dissertations with main topics including literature, linguistics, language studies, rhetoric, composition, drama, theory, criticism, teaching, and publishing. Coverage: 1920s-present.
American Periodicals Series, Collections I & II This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of articles, advertisements, illustrations, editorial cartoons, obituaries, letters to the editor, and more from American magazines and journals. Includes popular, special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and other historically significant periodicals. Coverage: 1740-1940.
18th Century Collections Online, Parts I & II (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Digital images of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with select works from the Americas. Includes books, pamphlets, parliamentary papers, parish registers, sheet music, and more. Coverage: 1701-1800
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and many leading history periodicals. Also includes historical documents, biographies, photos and maps, and video.

Other useful History databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An index of scholarly articles and books. Look for the Find@UNM link to access the full-text articles in University Libraries subscription databases. For books check the library catalog.
Google Scholar will link to some--not all--of the online resources to which the University Libraries subscribes. Use the "Check full text @ UNM" link to see if the resource is available through a UNM subscription. It may also be helpful to look up the journal or citation through UNM eJournals tool.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ethnic minority topics and viewpoints from journals, newspapers, reports, conference papers, and dissertations. Ethnic categories include African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish and Native People.
Subject coverage: culture, religion, independent presses, ethnic studies, human rights, activism. Coverage: 1964-present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular publications on gender and the evolution of gender roles. Coverage: 1970-present.

All History Databases