Research Guides: History: Reference

Encyclopedias - History

World History Encyclopedia
Call Number: D9 .W67 2011
This multivolume encyclopedia focuses on specific themes of human development across cultures era by era.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present (Finkelman)
Call Number: Zim Ref: E185 .E5453 2009
This five-volume set focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 (Finkelman)
Call Number: Zim Ref: E185 .E545 2006
This three-volume set covers major topics such as "Abolitionism," "Black Nationalism," the "Civil War," the "Dred Scott case," "Reconstruction," "Slave Rebellions and Insurrections," the "Underground Railroad," and "Voting Rights" and contains hundreds of fascinating entries on less obvious subjects, such as the "African Grove Theatre," "Black Seafarers," "Buffalo Soldiers," etc.
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing
Call Number: D14 E53 1999
Contains over 800 entries, ranging from Lord Acton and Anna Comnena to Howard Zinn and Herodatus to Simon Schama. Over 300 contributors have composed critical assessments of historians from the beginning of historical writing to the present day. Additionally, the text includes 200 essays treating the development of national, regional and topical historiographies, from the ancient Near East to the history of sexuality.

Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Offer concise introductions (ebooks) to a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory.
1-concurrent user.

History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and many leading history periodicals. Also includes historical documents, biographies, photos and maps, and video.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Digitized images, articles, documents, etc. exploring the African-American experience from African origins to the present in the United States. Coverage: 500CE-present.
American Indian History Online This link opens in a new window
Consists of entries on a variety of topics related to Native American history and culture, including content from books, primary sources, images, and videos. Provides excellent overview of many topics through timelines and issue essays. Coverage dates: 17th century-present.