Spanish Colonial and Mexican Documents

Collections in the archives of CSWR

Use the ROCKY MOUNTAIN ONLINE ARCHIVE (RMOA) engine to search the finding aids or inventories of archival collections at the CSWR. (The RMOA can also search the inventories of collections at over 30 other repositories in NM, CO and WY).

RMOA Help:  Use Advanced Search. Limit by institution - UNM Center for Southwest Research (or can open to other or all.)  Use word search box to check for topic.  When looking inside an individual collection inventory, use CTRL + F to open a Find window - type in search term to locate it in the inventory.

Here are examples of archival collections with documents at the CSWR:

Archivo General de las Indias (AGI) and Other Archives in Spain, and Propaganda Fide, Rome, MSS 841 BC, ca. 1505-1812

Archivo General de La Nacion (AGN) and Other Archives in Mexico, MSS 867 BC, ca. 1520 - 1878

Note: Once inside the inventories for these two, you can go to the - Detailed Finding Guide - for the fuller description of items in the collections. They contain a vast array of selected documents from those archives, in Spanish script, as photostats or microfilm, and with some typed transcriptions and notes. A few items are in English.  Areas: Broad early NM, much on Nueva Vizcaya, Nueva Galicia, Sonora, Nuevo Leon, etc. and central MX and Yucatan.  Also CA, AZ, TX, FL, LA,  AK, etc.  Some  Spanish  relations with French, Russians, English and US.  Some for IL, MO, KS, OK, and AL.  Some for Guatemala, Honduras, Peru, Chile, the Philippines, etc. and  Caribbean Islands - Espanola, Santo Domingo, Cuba, Puerto Rico, Jamaica, etc.

D'Armand Collection of Spanish Language Documents, 1792-1871, MSS 121 SC -  view of NM social classes, children, mestizos, servants, democratic government, defense, Indian attacks, economic, tax, environment and property issues.

Miguel Antonio Lovato Papers, 1790-1849, MSS 137 SC - NM problems, prison conditions, Pueblo land losses, social classes, military, economic woes, lack of holy sacraments to area Hispanics and Indians, suggestions for remedies.

New Mexico Documents Collection, 1758-1876, MSS 146 BC - some Spanish and Mexican era documents here with view of NM society, government, judicial, economic, land and water issues.

France V. Scholes Papers, 1492 - 1979, MSS 360 BC - his research on broad history of Spanish NM, Pueblos, Southwest, New Spain, Northern Mexican provinces, Central Mexico and Yucatan, includes maps for NM, Mexico / New Spain, Yucatan / Mayan areas, Central America, North America, New France, etc. The Scholes inventory also has a deeper Detailed Finding guide.

Eleanor B. Adams Papers, 1492-2000, MSS 826 BC - her research on Spanish NM and New Spain, transcriptions, some translations  a few original Spanish documents; maps from the colonial through territorial eras. Some in Spanish. Some of her maps are on NMDC.

John L. Kessell Papers, 1582-1985, MSS 767 - photocopies of some primary archive sources used in his publications on Spanish colonial history of NM and the Borderlands, Arizona, Maria de Agreda, etc. Some in Spanish.

Ward Alan Minge Papers, 1689-1991, MSS 815 BC, legal claims, history for Pueblos of NM, land and water.

Sandoval County, New Mexico Land Documents, 1790-1872, MSS 157 BC - compiled by Julius Seligman, sale and purchase of land in and around Bernalillo, Algodones, Placitas, Santa Ana Pueblo, San Felipe Pueblo, and Jemez Pueblo. Various Spanish settlers, Native Americans, Pueblos in land transactions, with Spanish Protector de Indios, legal aid advisor to Indians, etc.

 

 

 

Help Using the RMOA

For RMOA - use Advanced Search. Limit by institution - UNM Center for Southwest Research (or can open to any other place or to all.)

Use word search to search for topic.

If you get some collections, you can look at the writing in blue, which gives a quick view of what they contain on your topic.

Click on the red highlighted collection title to open it and look inside.

When looking inside a collection inventory, use CTRL + F to open a Find window - type in the search term to locate it in the inventory.