Books are useful for getting an overview of your topic and learning about the terminology used to describe your topic. While journal articles will have the latest research and developments, they are often focused on a very narrow aspect of a topic. Once you have the "big picture" you can then use the engineering databases (Articles tab) to find journal articles looking at a specific engineering problem.
The UNM Libraries organize books using Library of Congress call numbers. The major sections for nuclear engineering are located on the LL2 of the Centennial Science and Engineering Library:
| Subject | Call Number |
|---|---|
| Health effects of nuclear radiation | RA1231 |
| Nuclear engineering. Atomic power. | TK9001-9401 |
| Nuclear and particle physics. Atomic energy. Radioactivity. | QC770-798 |
The Library of Congress (LC) call numbers classify the nuclear literature into two main areas: the TK9000+ range, which emphasizes the applied aspect of nuclear engineering, and the QC770+ range, which demonstrates the nuclear physics aspect of the discipline.
The following is a list of useful search terms related to nuclear engineering. You might also try using the term “Nuclear engineering” in combination with other keyword terms.
Nuclear energy
Nuclear facilities
Nuclear fission
Nuclear fuel
Nuclear fuel elements
Nuclear fuels
Nuclear industry
Nuclear power plants
Nuclear reactors
Radioactive decontamination
Radioactive waste disposal
Radioactive wastes
Spent nuclear fuels
Neutron Applications in Materials for Energy
Neutron Applications in Materials for Energy collects results and conclusions of recent neutron-based investigations of materials that are important in the development of sustainable energy. Chapters are authored by leading scientists with hands-on experience in the field, providing overviews, recent highlights, and case-studies to illustrate the applicability of one or more neutron-based techniques of analysis. The theme follows energy production, storage, and use, but each chapter, or section, can also be read independently, with basic theory and instrumentation for neutron scattering being outlined in the introductory chapter.
Half-Life: The divided life of Bruno Pontecorvo, physicist or spy by
Bruno Pontecorvo dedicated his career to hunting for the Higgs boson of his day: the neutrino, a nearly massless particle considered essential to the process of nuclear fission. His work on the Manhattan project under Enrico Fermi confirmed his reputation as a brilliant physicist and helped usher in the nuclear age. He should have won a Nobel Prize, but late in the summer of 1950 he vanished. At the height of the Cold War, Pontecorvo had disappeared behind the Iron Curtain. InHalf-Life, physicist and historian Frank Close offers a heretofore untold history of Pontecorvo’s life, based on unprecedented access to his friends, family, and colleagues. With all the elements of a Cold War thriller--classified atomic research, an infamous double agent, a kidnapping by Soviet operatives--Half-Life is a history of particle physics at perhaps its most powerful: when it created the bomb.
Producing power: The pre-Chernobyl history of the Soviet nuclear industry by
The Chernobyl disaster has been variously ascribed to human error, reactor design flaws, and industry mismanagement. Six former Chernobyl employees were convicted of criminal negligence; they defended themselves by pointing to reactor design issues. Other observers blamed the Soviet style of ideologically driven economic and industrial management. In Producing Power, Sonja Schmid draws on interviews with veterans of the Soviet nuclear industry and extensive research in Russian archives as she examines these alternate accounts. Rather than pursue one "definitive" explanation, she investigates how each of these narratives makes sense in its own way and demonstrates that each implies adherence to a particular set of ideas -- about high-risk technologies, human-machine interactions, organizational methods for ensuring safety and productivity, and even about the legitimacy of the Soviet state.
Molecular Imaging in Nano MRI
The authors describe a technique that can visualize the atomic structure of molecules, it is necessary, in terms of the image processing, to consider the reconstruction of sparse images. Many works have leveraged the assumption of sparsity in order to achieve an improved performance that would not otherwise be possible. For nano MRI, the assumption of sparsity is given by default since, at the atomic scale, molecules are sparse structures. This work reviews the latest results on molecular imaging for nano MRI. Sparse image reconstruction methods can be categorized as either non-Bayesian or Bayesian. A comparison of the performance and complexity of several such algorithms is given.
Circularly Polarized Antennas
This book presents a comprehensive insight into the design techniques for different types of CP antenna elements and arrays In this book, the authors address a broad range of topics on circularly polarized (CP) antennas. Firstly, it introduces to the reader basic principles, design techniques and characteristics of various types of CP antennas, such as CP patch antennas, CP helix antennas, quadrifilar helix antennas (QHA), printed quadrifilar helix antennas (PQHA), spiral antenna, CP slot antennas, CP dielectric resonator antennas, loop antennas, crossed dipoles, monopoles and CP horns. Advanced designs such as small-size CP antennas, broadband, wideband and ultra-wideband CP antennas are also discussed, as well as multi-band CP antennas and dual CP antennas. The design and analysis of different types of CP array antennas such as broadband CP patch arrays, dual-band CP arrays, CP printed slot arrays, single-band and multi-band CP reflectarrays, high-gain CP waveguide slot antennas, CP dielectric resonator antenna arrays, CP active arrays, millimetre-waveband CP arrays in LTCC, and CP arrays with electronically beam-switching or beam-steering capabilities are described in detail. Case studies are provided to illustrate the design and implementation of CP antennas in practical scenarios such as dual-band Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) receivers, satellite communication mobile terminals at the S-band, Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) readers at 2.4 GHz, and Ka-band high-speed satellite communication applications. It also includes the detailed designs for a wideband Logarithmic spiral antenna that can operate from 3.4-7.7 GHz. In addition, the book offers a detailed review of the recent developments of different types of CP antennas and arrays.Presents comprehensive discussions of design techniques for different types of CP antennas: small-size CP antennas, broadband CP antennas, multi-band CP antennas and CP arrays.Covers a wide range of antenna technologies such as microstrip antennas, helix, quadrifilar helix antenna, printed quadrifilar helix antenna, dielectric resonator antennas, printed slots, spiral antennas, monopoles, waveguide slot arrays, reflectarrays, active arrays, millimetre-wave arrays in LTCC, electronically beam-switching arrays and electronically beam-steerable arrays.Reviews recent developments in different types of CP antennas and arrays, reported by industries, researchers and academics worldwide.Includes numerous case studies to demonstrate how to design and implement different CP antennas in practical scenarios.Provides both an introduction for students in the field and an in-depth reference for antenna/RF engineers who work on the development of CP antennas. "Circularly Polarized Antennas" will be an invaluable guide for researchers in R&D organizations; system engineers (antenna, telecom, space and satellite); postgraduates studying the subjects of antenna and propagation, electromagnetics, RF/microwave/millimetre-wave systems, satellite communications and so on; technical managers and professionals in the areas of antennas and propagation.
Nuclear Materials Science by
Concerns around global warming have led to a nuclear renaissance in many countries. Meanwhile, the nuclear industry is already warning of a need to train more nuclear engineers and scientists who are needed in a range of areas from healthcare and radiation detection to space exploration and advanced materials, as well as for the nuclear power industry. Here, Karl Whittle provides a solid overview of the intersection of nuclear engineering and materials science at a level approachable by advanced students from materials, engineering and physics. The text explains the unique aspects needed in the design and implementation of materials for use in demanding nuclear settings. In addition to material properties and their interaction with radiation, the book covers a range of topics including reactor design, fuels, fusion, future technologies and lessons learned from past incidents. Accompanied by problems, videos and teaching aids, the book is suitable for a course text in nuclear materials and a reference for those already working in the field.
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
This reference identifies current challenges and development paths sure to influence fields ranging from materials and surface science, chemistry and biomedicine to computer technology, information processing, and mechanical, optical, and electrical engineering.
Handbook of Accelerator Physics and Engineering by
Edited by internationally recognized authorities in the field, this expanded and updated new edition of the bestselling Handbook, containing more than 100 new articles, is aimed at the design and operation of modern particle accelerators. It is intended as a vade mecum for professional engineers and physicists engaged in these subjects. With a collection of more than 2000 equations, 300 illustrations and 500 graphs and tables, here one will find, in addition to the common formulae of previous compilations, hard-to-find, specialized formulae, recipes and material data pooled from the lifetime experience of many of the world's most able practitioners of the art and science of accelerators.The eight chapters include both theoretical and practical matters as well as an extensive glossary of accelerator types. Chapters on beam dynamics and electromagnetic and nuclear interactions deal with linear and nonlinear single particle and collective effects including spin motion, beam-environment, beam-beam, beam-electron, beam-ion and intrabeam interactions. The impedance concept and related calculations are dealt with at length as are the instabilities associated with the various interactions mentioned. A chapter on operational considerations includes discussions on the assessment and correction of orbit and optics errors, real-time feedbacks, generation of short photon pulses, bunch compression, tuning of normal and superconducting linacs, energy recovery linacs, free electron lasers, cooling, space-charge compensation, brightness of light sources, collider luminosity optimization and collision schemes. Chapters on mechanical and electrical considerations present material data and important aspects of component design including heat transfer and refrigeration. Hardware systems for particle sources, feedback systems, confinement and acceleration (both normal conducting and superconducting) receive detailed treatment in a subsystems chapter, beam measurement techniques and apparatus being treated therein as well. The closing chapter gives data and methods for radiation protection computations as well as much data on radiation damage to various materials and devices.A detailed name and subject index is provided together with reliable references to the literature where the most detailed information available on all subjects treated can be found.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949.
Nuclear Energy
Nuclear Energy provides an authoritative reference on all aspects of the nuclear industry from fundamental reactor physics calculations to reactor design, nuclear fuel resources, nuclear fuel cycle, radiation detection and protection, and nuclear power economics. Featuring 19 peer-reviewed entries by recognized authorities in the field, this book provides comprehensive, streamlined coverage of fundamentals, current areas of research, and goals for the future. The chapters will appeal to undergraduate and graduate students, researchers, and energy industry experts.
Nuclear Power by
Nuclear Power provides a concise, up-to-date, accessible guide to the most controversial form of power generation. The author includes a comprehensive description of the various methods for generating nuclear power and evaluates the political, strategic, environmental, economic, and emotional factors involved in each method. The analysis of real-life, tragic examples, such as the accidents in Chernobyl and Fukushima help the reader understand the associated risks and dangers of this method of power generation and the radioactive waste it creates. This is a valuable and insightful read for those involved in nuclear power, including power plant designers and engineers, as well as those involved in the protection of society and the environment.
Schaum's Outline of Applied Physics by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's Outlines. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you Practice problems with full explanations that reinforce knowledge Coverage of the most up-to-date developments in your course field In-depth review of practices and applications Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines-Problem Solved.