Research Guides: Chemical Engineering: Technical Reports

Find Technical Reports

National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new window
NTIS comprehensive federal resource of high-quality government scientific, technical, engineering, and information (STEI) reports produced by or for federal agencies in hundreds of subject areas.

TRAIL-Technical Report Archive and Image Library
TRAIL identifies, acquires, catalogs, and digitizes technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
DTIC Technical Report collection includes all unclassified, unlimited government-sponsored technical report citations since 1974.
National Library of Energy
The NLE offers one-stop, easy access to DOE information in four broad topic areas:
• science and R&D
• energy and technology for industry and homeowners
• energy market information and analysis; and
• nuclear security and environmental management
TRID
RID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
Los Alamos National Laboratory
The Research Library holds about 1.5 million unclassified technical reports, in paper, microfiche and electronic formats.
EPA - National Service Center for Environmental Publications
Search, view and print from a collection of more than 6,000 technical and public information documents.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
NTRS provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, and images and videos. The types of information include: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.

What is a technical report?

Technical reports are designed to quickly alert researchers to recent findings in scientific and technical research. These reports are issued for a variety of purposes:

to communicate results or describe progress of a research project;
as background information on an emerging or critical research topic;
to provide a list of instructions or procedures for current practices;
to determine the feasibility of a technology and recommend if the research should be continued (and how to evaluate progress that is made); and finally,
to detail technical specifications (materials, functions, features, operation, market potential, etc.).

Source: http://www.loc.gov/rr/scitech/trs/trswhatare.html