Research Guides: Political Science: News

Finding Primary Sources -- NEWS

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Articles from international, national, and regional newspapers, newswires, and news sites. Includes BBC Monitoring translations of non-English newspapers from a variety of regions. (To search these: put "BBC MONITORING" in the first search box and change the dropdown box to the right to PUBLICATION TITLE. In the search box below, enter your keywords. Note that not all countries have full coverage in our access to this source.) Also includes access to major United States newspapers, such as, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal. Coverage 1980-present.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of newspapers from mainstream news sources and African-American news sources. Publication include: Chicago Tribune (1849-1994); Los Angeles Times (1881-1994); New York Times (1851-2014); Washington Post (1877-2001); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Civil War era titles, and other newspapers from around the United States. Coverage: 1800s-2005.
New York Times (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
The national paper of record with domestic and international news. Coverage: 1980-present.
New York Times (1851 - 3 years ago) This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper articles, including photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, and editorial cartoons. Coverage: 1851 - three years ago.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Features newspaper articles, newswires, blogs, and news sites. It includes access to New Mexico newspapers as well as newspapers from across America including Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal. Coverage: 1980s-present.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
English-language transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news. Political, military, economic, and environmental topics are the major emphases asthe original mission of the FBIS was to monitor and translate intercepted broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine operations. Covers the Cold War, China, the Middle East, Latin America, the Soviet Union, and more.
Coverage: 1941 to 1996.