Research Guides: Communication & Journalism: Newspapers

Current Newspapers

NewspaperARCHIVE.com US Collection This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspaper articles from US newspapers, including several New Mexican newspaper titles from the late 19th century and 20th century. Coverage varies by Newspaper: 1759-present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ethnic minority topics and viewpoints from journals, newspapers, reports, conference papers, and dissertations. Ethnic categories include African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish and Native People.
Subject coverage: culture, religion, independent presses, ethnic studies, human rights, activism. Coverage: 1964-present.
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Local, national, and regional Spanish and Portuguese-language news sources. Keytitles include: El Universal (Mexico City); O Globo (Brazil); La Nacin (Argentina); and El Mercurio (Chile).
New York Times (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
The national paper of record with domestic and international news. Coverage: 1980-present.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
WSJ full-text articles, no images. Coverage: 1984 to today.

WestLaw Campus Research
The news section of this database includes news from local, national, and international sources.

Historical Newspapers - U.S.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window Digitized collection of newspapers published in the U.S. Covers the American Civil War and Reconstruction, Western migration, African American culture and history, the development of industry, and US expansion overseas, among other subjects. Coverage: 1800-1899
NewspaperARCHIVE.com US Collection This link opens in a new window Digitized newspaper articles from US newspapers, including several New Mexican newspaper titles from the late 19th century and 20th century. Coverage varies by Newspaper: 1759-present.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window Digitized newspapers published in the United States chronicling African-American life covering the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, Jim Crow Era, Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment, etc. Coverage: 1827-1998.
America's Historical Newspapers (Early Am. Newspapers Series 1-9) This link opens in a new window Digitized collection of newspapers published in North America between 1690 and 1922. Related: African American Newspapers published from 1827 to 1998Related: Hispanic American Newspapers published from 1808 to 1980
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Provides access to ethnic minority topics and viewpoints from journals, newspapers, reports, conference papers, and dissertations. Ethnic categories include African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish and Native People.Subject coverage: culture, religion, independent presses, ethnic studies, human rights, activism. Coverage: 1964-present.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window Spanish-language and bilingual Spanish/English newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window A collection of newspapers from mainstream news sources and African-American news sources. Publication include:  Chicago Tribune (1849-1994); Los Angeles Times (1881-1994); New York Times (1851-2014); Washington Post (1877-2001); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Civil War era titles, and other newspapers from around the United States. Coverage: 1800s-2005.
New York Times (1851 - 3 years ago) This link opens in a new window Historical newspaper articles, including photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, and editorial cartoons. Coverage: 1851 - three years ago.

Historical Newspapers - World

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection This link opens in a new window Digital images of pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks, and newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland. Includes limited number of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia. Coverage: 1600-1799
19th Century British Library Newspapers, Parts I & II This link opens in a new window Digitized collection of national, regional, and local newspapers published in Britain. Coverage: 1800-1899
Financial Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new window Digitized version of The Financial Times, a major daily business newspaper. Coverage: 1888-2010.
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window Covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Includes searchable articles, editorials, and advertising. Coverage: 1785 to 1985

New Mexico Newspapers

New Mexico Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from the Albuquerque Journal (coverage: 1995-current), Las Cruces Sun-News (coverage: 2004-current), and Roswell Daily Record (coverage: 2002-current).
South Central US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access to the Albuquerque Journal (1995 - current) and The Santa Fe New Mexican (1994 - current), and indexes the New Mexico Business Journal (1985-1998).
NewspaperARCHIVE.com US Collection This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspaper articles from US newspapers, including several New Mexican newspaper titles from the late 19th century and 20th century. Coverage varies by Newspaper: 1759-present.
New Mexico Newspaper Project This link opens in a new window
The archive includes information on locations of New Mexico newspapers published from 1844 to the present. It indicates the format is microfilm or original and lists summary holdings at institutional repositories.
Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the University of New Mexico University Libraries. Additional funding provided by the UNM Center for Regional Studies and Friends of the UNM Libraries, Inc. This is a free website. ;