"Love and Gratitude" -- Love in the Archives 2022

Latin American Health Campaign Posters

 

IX campana de vacunacion antipoliomielitica (9th Campaign to vaccinate against polio – promoting vaccines); Cuba (offset lithograph by unidentified artist), early 1970s; Jane Norling and Lenora (Nori) Davis Collection, #2007-001-0140

 

What better way to declare love -- or in the case of community health, care for one another -- than with a dramatic poster!

Graphic posters get our attention by promoting an idea of the moment.   If successful, they motivate us to act. 

A vivid poster may help us express our care and concern for others.  And while not as long-lasting as many forms of love, posters can express enduring ideas and values, even if the particular promotion is transitory.

A catchy phrase may describe a purpose, but the most arresting posters will have imagery that speaks for itself.

CSWR Examples

Many CSWR collections include posters; especially well represented are posters created for Latin American health campaigns.  Sometimes government health and education agencies produce campaigns to publicize and motivate citizens in support of official programs.  At other times, women’s rights organizations or other non-governmental agencies publish promotional or protest posters.

Posters from these collections appear below:

Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American and Iberian Posters (PICT 000-674) and

Jane Norling and Lenora (Nori) Davis Collection (PICT 2007-001)


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Volver a vivir (Revive! -- advocating for human rights and health); Chile, offset lithograph by Claudio de Girolamo, 1991; Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American and Iberian Posters, #000-674-3741


Si, malanguitas en la tierra (Yes, planting malanguitas (a root vegetable) -- helps protect against mosquitos carrying Dengue); Cuba, serigraph print by Pino, 1979; Jane Norling and Lenora (Nori) Davis Collection, #2007-001-035


Sea prudente este inmunizado (Be careful, be immunized -- encouraging adults and children to get vaccinated); Puerto Rico, poster by unidentified artist, 1988; Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American and Iberian Political Posters, #000-674-0597


Se você tomou umas e outras e quer chegar inteiro em casa, não dirija (If you’ve had a couple of drinks and want to get home in one piece, don’t drive – take a taxi, as drinking coffee, showering or sweating don’t alleviate the effects of drinking alcohol); Brazil, poster by unidentified artist, 1987; Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American and Iberian Political Posters, #000-674-5553


Primer congreso nacional mujer y salud mental (First national congress on women and mental health – conference promotion); Chile, offset lithograph by Rosa Varas, photograph by Evelun Ruman, 1992; Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American and Iberian Posters, #000-674-3752


No a la mortalidad maternal (No to maternal mortality – promoting women's and prenatal health); Nicaragua, offset lithograph by C. Fine, 1990s; Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American Political Posters, #000-674-0668


Mostre que voce tem bom coracao. Doe Sangue. (Show that you have a good heart. Donate blood – promoting blood donation awareness); Brazil, poster by unidentified artist, 1987; Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American and Iberian Posters, #000-674-5552


¡Así protege su salud! (This is how your protect your health! - promoting boiling water); Cuba, poster by Heri Echeverris del Pozo, 1985; Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American Political Posters, #000-674-0228


Fumar e Careta (Mask Smoking -- campaign to quit smoking); Brazil, poster by unidentified artist, 1980s; Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American and Iberian Posters, #000-674-5554


Cuando algo tan importante este en juego… (When something so important is at stake, don’t sell or delegate our health, defend it – promoting worker’s health and rights); Spain, poster by unidentified artist, 1978; Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American and Iberian Political Posters, #000-674-4793


En el hogar y en el trabajo…la seguridad comienza con orden y limpieza (In the home and at work...safety begins with order and cleanliness – General Services promotion); Venezuela, offset lithograph by unidentified artist, 1988; Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American and Iberian Posters, #000-674-3487

 

 

Considering posters....

In 2022, so much of our visual communication is electronic (including this exhibit), but it can be impactful to see these works in person and at full scale – please do come to CSWR and look at these and more posters.

For additional poster-rich collections, see:

Latin American Ephemera (PICT 2012-002)

Holland Collection of WW II Posters  (PICT 999-001)

Taller de Grafica Popular (PICT 2001-025)

The posters seen above and more can be viewed digitally through this link to New Mexico Digital Collections.

For More Information

New Mexico Archives Online:  Search for materials in the physical collections of organizations across the Rocky Mountain region.

New Mexico Digital Collections:  Digital materials from museums and cultural heritage institutions across New Mexico.

Curated by

Profile Photo
Cindy Abel Morris
Contact:
Center for Southwest Research/Special Collections, Room 127B
505-277-0492