Research Guides: Ibero-American Colonial Art: Primary Sources

UNM Resources

New Mexico's Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Digital images of state, national, and international collections held by New Mexico cultural heritage institutions, including The University of New Mexico. Collections contain documents, photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, art, interviews, and music.
New Mexico Digital History Project This link opens in a new window
Interpretive essays and digital images - arranged topically - from the New Mexico Office of the State Historian.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
This collection depicts early contacts between European settlers and American Indians and the subsequent political, social and cultural effects upon American Indian life.
Manuscripts, artwork, rare printed books, photographs, and newspapers tell both the historical and the personal stories of the colonization of the Americas. Coverage:1500s-1900s.
New Mexico Archives Online (NMAO) This link opens in a new window
It provides access to finding aids for archival collections from 19 repositories across the state of New Mexico. The finding aids include information on the contents, historical context, creation, and organization of materials in the collections.
World Scholar Archives: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
This collection of articles, maps, statistics, audio, video, and primary documents supports undergraduate student research in Latin American and Caribbean history, politics, economics, sociology and culture.

Search the Center for Southwest Research Special Collections and Archvies

Primary Documents Online

Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano (BDPI)
BDPI is a project of the Asociación de Bibliotecas Nacionales de Iberoamérica (ABINIA). Its objective is the creation of a portal which provides access, from a single search point, to the digital resources of all the participating libraries. Highlighted digital collections in geography and travel, periodicals, music, and tales and legends.
Colonial State Papers
provide access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Included is a digitized version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.
Early Americas Digital Archive (U of Maryland)
Digital versions of texts written from 1492 to 1820 in or about the Americas.
Internet Archive: Text
Offers over 8,000,000 fully accessible public domain eBooks. Includes texts from around the world on most subjects.
Library of Congress Online collections
Includes newspapers, prints, photographs, manuscripts, and more, dating back to 1100.