Research Guides: HIST 472/652: Women in Modern Latin America: Scholarly Articles & Books (Secondary Sources)

Finding Scholarly Research Articles

Area Studies - Latin America

PRISMA Database with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
Spanish and Portuguese-language portal for scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities on Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Coverage: 1960-present.

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular publications on gender and the evolution of gender roles. Coverage: 1970-present.

Political Science

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Focus on the research literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy. 1975-present.

Public Policy

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Focused on public policy research and issues. Includes international journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and publications of international agencies. Does not include newspapers. Coverage: 1915-present.

History

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history and culture which includes scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, reference sources, and other documents and multimedia. Coverage: prehistoric times to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World history including military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Indexing of scholarly journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Coverage: 1450-present.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts database which focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1952-present.

Legal

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Access to law journals and other legal periodicals, federal publications (e.g. Federal Register, Foreign Relations of the US - FRUS), statutes, case law, treaties, historical legal documents, Canada and United Kingdom laws, and more. Provided by the UNM Law School Library.

Military

Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and magazines pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Useful to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, video and news dealing with conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. Useful for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.

General

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An index of scholarly articles and books. Look for the Find@UNM link to access the full-text articles in University Libraries subscription databases. For books check the library catalog.
Google Scholar will link to some--not all--of the online resources to which the University Libraries subscribes. Use the "Check full text @ UNM" link to see if the resource is available through a UNM subscription. It may also be helpful to look up the journal or citation through UNM eJournals tool.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive archive of multidisciplinary scholarly journals and books. Coverage: 1800s to 3-5 years ago; Includes ARTstor - images across the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching. Coverage: ancient times to today.