Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences News

CULLS welcomes a newly appointed Interim Associate Dean

by Sara Velasquez on 2022-09-09T16:07:21-06:00 in Library | Comments

The College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences (CULLS) is excited to welcome associate professor, Laura Soito, as the new interim Associate Dean. 
Laura Soito was appointed by Leo Lo, Dean of CULLS in early June as the new Interim Associate Dean for Collections and Digital Scholarship. 
“Laura has worked in academic libraries for ten years, after seven years of working in research. She has broad experience in collections and digital scholarship including progressive leadership and management of increasingly complex projects and programs,” said Lo. “Laura is an excellent addition to the CULLS administration team and we are lucky to have Laura’s many years of experience to help the college grow.”
Prior to her appointment as interim associate dean, Laura Soito started at CULLS in 2015 and since then has served as the Physical Sciences Librarian, Acquisitions & E-Resources Coordinator, and most recently as the Director of Collections and LIBROS Consortium Coordinator.
“As the interim AD, I’m looking forward to guiding the future of our collection and digital scholarship services. I feel that this new position plays an important role in sustainably enhancing the library’s stewardship of collections across formats and, in turn enables vast opportunities for research and learning,” said Soito. “I’m hopeful that working across this new group of departments will help us in establishing a more holistic vision of collections and identify new, easier, and more efficient ways to connect people with information.”
Soito holds a Master of Library and Information Studies from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and a Bachelor of Science in Botany and Physical Science from Northern Arizona University. Previously, she worked at the University of California, Davis and Wake Forest School of Medicine.
“I’m thrilled to be working with a team that is so immensely knowledgeable of the library’s resources and passionate about connecting these to our communities. I appreciate the opportunity to use my broad experience with collections and digital scholarship to support the library and its users,” said Soito.
The College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences is comprised of the Organization, Information, & Learning Sciences (OILS) Academic Program, University Libraries, and the University of New Mexico Press with over 120 staff and faculty. The College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences supports communities by providing expertise, instruction, services, spaces, and collections that advance scholarship, teaching, and intellectual discovery. 

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...