Vernacular - or traditional - architecture encompasses most of the buildings of the world. This encyclopedia is the first to show the remarkable diversity of the buildings constructed and lived in by the people of over a thousand cultures.
The Oxford Companion to Architecture is a new A-Z reference book on a popular and much-debated subject. It covers all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definitions.
The Oxford History of Western Art is an innovative and challenging reappraisal of how the history of art can be presented and understood. Through a carefully devised modular structure, readers are given insights not only into how and why works of art were created, but also how works in different media relate to each other across time. Here--uniquely--is not the simple, linear "story" of art, but a rich series of stories, told from varying viewpoints.
"The AFI Catalog, the most authoritative filmographic database on the web, includes entries on nearly 60,000 American feature-length and 17,000 short films produced from 1893-2011, as well as AFI Awards honorees from 2000 through 2014."
This is the largest Internet site for finding information about specific films and people in the film industry. The site contains entries for over 3,000,000 films and television episodes and over 6,000,000 million cast and crew members. IMDB's content is provided by its own registered users. This means that coverage will vary greatly in scope, but it is still the most comprehensive movie site on the Web.
A comprehensive annotated index and guide to music manuscripts produced after 1600. The database has more than 585,559 records by over 20,500 composers and is linked to three other databases providing additional information to specific content: Composer, Library Sigla and Bibliographic Citations.
Garland's ambitious 10-volume series takes a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and complemented by an extensive index.
This text has been the standard guide to source literature of music and contains critically annotated listings of over 3,500 key sources. This comprehensive guide to reference sources is organized into chapters by category of source.
Call Number: Fine Arts Reference ML101 U6 N48 1986
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music is the most comprehensive and enlightening history of America's musical heritage ever published. American Grove is focused solely on the unique styles and traditions of American music.
Streaming video collection. Dance productions, documentaries, editorials, and interviews of influential performers and companies. Includes wide range of genres and ability to search by people, instruments, ensemble, time period, venue, and more.
A collection covering modern drama in the English language from the 1890s to the end of the 20th century. The coverage is global, including authors from the US, UK, Ireland, Africa, the Caribbean, India and Australasia. The collection is still in progress, and anticipates having over 2,500 plays when completed.
From ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in stage design, from the trance-dances of Sumatra to an extensive biography of the legendary actor-manager Eleonore Duse, the Encyclopedia provides unrivaled information across the broad sweep of theatrical activity.