Research Guides: Health Policy & Economics: U.S. Data & Statistics

Major Econ Databases

Major Economics Databases
A list of various economic databases for data and literature content.

Project TYCHO: Data for Health
This University of Pittsburgh project aims to advance the use of public health data for the improvement of public health. It provides access to raw data.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
This Dartmouth project documents glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the US.
Law Atlas (Temple University)
Mapping of laws by jurisdiction on various health related issues. Legal mapping can help policy-makers, advocates and researchers understand what the laws are on a given topic, know how the laws differ over time and across jurisdictions, and provides data so they may evaluate their impact.

ICPSR (datasets) This link opens in a new window
Curated data from researchers. The files and documentation covering wide range of social science areas, including health. Data offered in computer-readable format for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata.

IPUMS Health Surveys
IPUMS provide free individual-level survey data for research purposes from two leading sources of self-reported health and health care access information: the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) and the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS).
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.
Kaiser: State Health Statistics
Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.
Health and Retirement Study (UMich)
HRS is a longitudinal panel study that surveys a representative sample of approximately 20,000 people in America, supported by the National Institute on Aging (NIA U01AG009740) and the Social Security Administration.

Roper Center Archives for Public Opinion Research (iPoll) This link opens in a new window
Public opinion polling data from U.S. and international polling firms on a broad range of topics including opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs. Download datasets and tables. Coverage: 1935 to present.

NBER Datasets
National Bureau of Economic Research datasets, includes health topics.

HealthData.gov
It makes high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers.
CDC WONDER
Produced by the Center on Disease Control & Prevention provides a system to analyze many public health datasets.
Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services: Data
Use this tool to find data and information products for specific CMS programs, such as Medicare and Medicaid, or on specific health care topics or settings-of-care. Navigator displays search results by data type making it easier to locate specific types of information (e.g., data files, publications, statistical reports, etc.).
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
A rich source of information about America's health that compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health.
Data.HRSA.gov (Health Resources & Services Administration)
These HRSA datasets, includes Area Health Resources Files, and many others.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Provides a range of data resources on topics such as the use of health care, the costs of care, trends in hospital care, health insurance coverage, out-of-pocket spending, and patient satisfaction.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC)
BRFSS from the CDC is a system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Visualize and map thousands of socioeconomic variables covering the United States (local to national). Create reports on specific Census geographies. Download reports, data, and maps. Coverage: 2000-present.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Map various demographic and socioeconomic variables from United States Census, Statistics Canada, UK Data Centre, and Eurostat. Download maps/data. Coverage: 1790-present.
Users must create and log into your personal account on Social Explorer.

GapMinder
It uses its videos and data visualization tools to help people better understand statistics and other information about social, economic and environmental development at local, national and global levels.
Opportunity Atlas
Uses data from Opportunity Insight and US Census to map opportunity and achievement for each Census tract. also highlights income inequality,

Email Me

Subjects: Accounting & Tax, Africana Studies, Business & Management, Computer Science, Economics, Finance & Investment, Health Sciences, International Studies, Law, Public Administration, Public Health, Sports & Recreation, Sustainability Studies, Water