Research Guides: Finance: Industry Ratios & Reports

Industry Codes

NAICS
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the US business economy. Used by businesses too
SIC
Standard Industry Classification (SIC) is an older system still used by the SEC and some publishers.

Industry Ratios & Reports

Key Business Ratios (D&B) This link opens in a new window
KBR allows researchers to examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B’s database of public and private companies. (2009-present)
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
These major industry reports now include RMA's industry ratios. Select the Key Statistics tab >> Industry Financial Ratios

Damodaran Online
Aswath Damodara site on Finance, including valuation. He is a Professor of Finance at the Stern School of Business at New York University.

Business Ratios

Key Business Ratios Archives This link opens in a new window
The KBR Archive covers industry ratios from 1979-2010
WRDS (register for an account) This link opens in a new window
Data research platform and business intelligence tool. Use the platform to access Compustat, CRSP, and other datasets covering multiple disciplines, including Finance, Marketing, and Economics. Now includes Financial Ratios Suite by WRDS for industry and company level. Must register to access data.
Access provided by Anderson School of Management

Print resource for Industry Ratios

S&P Industry Surveys
Call Number: PML Ref Area: HG 4661. S769
Standard & Poor's track more than 50 North American industries and 10 global industries. Each report is authored by a S&P's industry research analyst and includes the following sections: Current Environment, Industry Trends, How the Industry Operates, Key Industry Ratios and Statistics, etc.
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Call Number: HF5681 R25 A45
PRINT resource provides standard financial ratios computed from the IRS's statistical sampling of the tax returns of all corporations. The reference book is arranged by NAICS code.

Def: Industry Ratios

Industry ratios are commonly used to evaluate the operating efficiency and profitability of a industry (or company). The resources listed on the left are good places to find these ratios. Try to be consistent when obtaining ratios, for example, use ratios from the same year. In doubt, ask your professor!

Free Resources for Industry Ratios

Yahoo! Industry Center
Site organizes resources, news, calendars, market info, and additional info by industry. You'll find lists of the Top 10 Companies in each industry ranked by market cap. Overviews for each industry are provided and feature content from Hoover's.
Virtual Pet: Industry Hubs
Polson Enterprises' site lists a wide variety of industries with links to specific industry home pages. The site also includes useful "how to" guides on industry and company research.