EndNote Software: Beginner's Guide

Overview of Importing References

Most literature databases provide an option to export references to EndNote. Exporting will send the article/book record, which should include the citation information, abstract, DOI, keywords, etc.  Basically, whatever information is in the record will be sent to EndNote. Each database system may use a different term(s) for exporting, such as...

  • Export
  • Citation Manager
  • Cite or Cite Record
  • Share or More

After you select Export you may need to select the RIS or EndNote option.  This should prompt you to a download a file with the record(s).

Sometime the files will automatically open in EndNote X, other times you will need to double click on the downloaded file (.ris or .enw) to prompt EndNote to open and import the record. You may be prompted to select a program, use ResearchSoft Direct Export or EndNote X.  Now the file will open in EndNote and import the record.

Importing References from various databases

Below are examples for the Library Catalog/Quick Search, EBSCO, ProQuest, JSTOR, Google Scholar, and PubMed.

Library Catalog/Quick Search

The Library Catalog allows you to export individual items

  1. Select a record from the results page
  2. Select the Arrow icon (also available on results page)
  3. Select Cite Record
  4. In the popup window select Cite with EndNote
  5. The file will download

--------------------------------------------------------

EBSCO Databases 

 EBSCO provides the option to export an individual item or multiple items.

Individual items

  1. Select any record from the results list page.
  2. On the right side of the record, you will notice the toolbar.  Select Export
  3. Select EndNote to download the file.

Multiple items
Select the folder icon on the right side of individual records or the folder icon next to each record on the results page. 

  1. Add a number of items to the folder.
  2. Select the Folder icon at the very top of the page. 
  3. Select the items from the list you want to export
  4. Select Export on the right side toolbar
  5. Select EndNote to download file.

 

-----------------------------------------------------

ProQuest Databases

ProQuest provides the option to export an individual item or multiple items.

Individual items

  1. Select any record from the results list page.
  2. On the upper right side of the record, select the ...More link.
  3. Select RIS from the list
  4. In the pop-up window, select Continue
  5. The file will download

Multiple items
Select the check box next to any record on the results page or in an individual record

  1. Add a number of items to the folder.
  2. Select the Folder icon at the very top right of the page. 
  3. Select the items from the list you want to export
  4. Select the  ...More link
  5. Select RIS from the list
  6. In the pop-up window, select Continue
  7. The file will download

--------------------------------------------------

JSTOR

JSTOR provides the option to export an individual item or multiple items.

Individual items

  1. Select any record from the results list page.
  2. On the upper right side of the record, you will notice the Citation Tools. 
  3. Select Export Citation from the list
  4. Select RIS from the list
  5. The file will download

Multiple items
Select the check box next to any record on the results page or in an individual record

  1. Add a number of items to the folder.
  2. Select Export at the top of page
  3. Select RIS from the list
  4. The file will download

--------------------------------------------------

Google Scholar

Google Scholar* only allows you to export individual items

Individual items

  1. Under each record notice the link Cite
  2. Select Cite
  3. Select EndNote
  4. The file will download

*Note: Google Scholar only provides the citation, no abstract, DOI or other information

--------------------------------------------------

PubMed

PubMed provides the option to export an individual item or multiple items.

Individual Items

  1. Select a record from the results page
  2. In the upper right of record you will notice "Send to:" link
  3. Select Send to:
  4. Select Citation Manager
  5. Select Create File
  6. The file will download

Multiple items
Select the check box next to any record on the results page or in an individual record

  1. In the upper right of results page you will notice "Send to:" link
  2. Select Send to:
  3. Select Citation Manager
  4. Select Create File
  5. The file will download

 

Manually entering Reference

You may need to manually enter a reference, for example, book sections (chapters) and government reports

  1. Select the New Reference icon (has a plus symbol) on top bar of EndNote X
  2. A blank record is created
  3. At the top of this record, change the Reference type to the appropriate type (e.g. Book Section, Report)
  4. The form will change based on the reference type selected
  5. Fill out the form and save

Search Library Catalogs, Web of Science, and PubMed in EndNote X

EndNote X provides the option to search Library Catalogs, PubMed, and Web of Science directly from the software. Perform a search, then more references directly to your folders.

  1. Notice the Global icon in the upper left corner, this displays Online Search
  2. There are a few defaults, but you can add others, especially library catalogs by selecting More.
  3. Select one of these databases and you may now search it.

A couple caveats

  • The UNM Library catalog, in this system, is not up to date.
  • Even though ProQuest and EBSCO databases are listed under More, they don't work in this system.

Subjects: Research Tools