Skip to main content

Scopus v. Web of Science: Web of Science details

Web of Science information

The Web of Science is a combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science & Technical Edition), but it also includes other indexes for addition cost (see box on right).

It indexes more than 12,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Every item of significance is listed: articles, reviews, letters, notes, corrections, and editorials. In addition to access by author, title, and institution, it is also possible to search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. It is possible to search the three databases independently or in any combination. Live links to electronic journals with full text are included for some publishers. The Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Science & Technical edition) is a Web of Science database that provides access to published literature from conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. This resource offers access to conference proceedings and their impact on global research, including cited reference searching to track emerging ideas and new research beyond what is covered in the journal literature.

Web of Science Databases/Indexes

Web of Science Core Collection includes (see PDF above)

  • Science Citation Index
  • Social Science Citation Index
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
  • Book Citation Index
  • Current Chemical Reactions
  • Index Chemicus
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index

Additional indexes (added-cost) are available in UNM's subscription

  • Biosis Citation Index
  • Zoological Record
  • MEDLINE
  • SciELO Citation Index
  • and more