Articles/DatabasesBooksGateways and WebsitesNewspapers
Aviles (Span 301)Samora (Intro CHMS)
This is the "Home" page of the "Chicano, Hispano, Latino Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chicano, Hispano, Latino Studies  

Last Updated: Apr 29, 2013 URL: http://libguides.unm.edu/content.php?pid=22416 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Welcome/Bienvenido

Welcome to this research guide, with links to resources for interdisciplinary research on Latin America. Please e-mail me if you would like to suggest additions to the library collection, arrange a research consultation, or schedule library training for your class.

Bienvenidos a esta guía de investigación, con enlaces a recursos para investigaciónes interdisciplinarias sobre América Latina. Por favor, mande un e-mail si usted desea sugerir adiciones a la colección, organizar una consulta de investigación, o programar una sesión de investigaciones para su clase.


      
     

    Thinking about Library Research?

     

    Where To Start

    In this electronically charged research environment, we sometimes forget that the fastest way to the sources for research papers are right under our noses. Don’t forget about

    1)      Your course syllabus: believe it or not, this can be an invaluable source because it contains (in addition to assignments and due dates)

    a.       The names of authors

    b.      The titles of books (which have well-thought out bibliographies)

    c.       The titles or articles and journals

    2)      The bibliography in the book or article that got you interested in this topic: In addition to new ideas for further development and new vocabularies for keyword searches, these books and articles have lists called bibliographies with:

    a.       The names of authors

    b.      The titles of books (which have well-thought out bibliographies)

    c.       The titles or articles and journals

    Once you have an author’s name or a title you can search it in

    a catalog like this one: WorldCat

                Worldcat gives you locations for books and links to articles

                            Once you have those, check their bibliographies

    or a database like this one: Google Scholar

                Google Scholar helps find more sources with its Cited By list

    Once you have the name of an important journal from your professor, you can search it here

                Once you find an electronic copy of the journal, browse a bit – see what interests you

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip