Books With Spanish DocumentsDocumentos Ineditos at UNM
Documents from the Archivo General de las Indias (AGI) of SpainDocuments from the Archivo General de la Nacion (AGN) of MexicoSpanish Documents in Manuscript CollectionsSpanish and Mexican Archives of New MexicoCollections of the Spanish Colonial Research CenterOther Microfilm Sources for New Mexico and MexicoDocuments from Bejar, Laredo and Parral
Spanish Document Sources OnlineLibraries Elsewhere (in U.S.)
This is the "Home" page of the "Colonial New Mexico & New Spain" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Colonial New Mexico & New Spain   Tags: new_mexico  

This guide will help researchers with the resources available at the Center for Southwest Research, University of New Mexico, and on-line for colonial New Mexico and the Viceroyalty of New Spain.
Last Updated: Dec 4, 2013 URL: http://libguides.unm.edu/colonialNM Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Hello!  This guide is designed to help you locate documents for 

New Mexico

Mexico (including the northern Mexican provinces) and Yucatan, 

some for the wider Spanish Borderlands - from Alaska, California and Arizona to Texas, Florida, etc.,

and a few for Spanish relations with England, France and the United States. 

These sources also include a few documents for Guatemala, the Caribbean islands, Chile, Peru, the Philippines, etc.


See also Libguide for Land Grants of New Mexico.

 

Bienvenido - welcome.

Zimmerman Library, home to the CSWR.  Photo by Donatella Davanzo, American Studies, UNM.


Patrons use our collections in the Anderson Reading Room, CSWR, UNM.

 

Researching Land Grants

See the separate Libguide for - Land Grants.

 

Researching for Spanish Documents at UNM

Guide to selected

Colonial Spanish

& Mexican  
era documents 

  from New Mexico,

Spain and Mexico.


at the Center for Southwest Research (CSWR), 

University Libraries, Albuquerque


Includes suggestions for:

- MSS collections with documents

- microfilmed document collections

- books with documents

- historic maps

- historical background articles

- and online document sources.

This is not a comprehensive listing

but only an introduction.

  Our homepageelibrary.unm.edu/cswr
 Contact us:  cswrref@unm.edu
     (505) 277-6451

 

Overview

The Center for Southwest Research (CSWR) is the Special Collections area of Zimmerman Library, University of New Mexico.  Included in the holdings of the Center are several collections of Spanish and Mexican era documents for New Mexico and the wider New Spain region.  There are several places to search for these holdings, which include books, microfilm, and manuscript collections.

LIBROS is the University Libraries catalog. Here is where you search for anything held by the University Libraries.  You can search by keyword, author, title, call number, or subject.  A LIBROS search also includes books held at CSWR and brief descriptions of manuscript collections.

Rocky Mountain Online Archive (RMOA) is where you search the finding aids of the manuscript collections at CSWR as well as holdings of more than 25 institutions in New Mexico, Colorado, and Wyoming.

New Mexico Digital Collections includes selected online documents, photographs, maps, posters, art and music from the CSWR and other New Mexico cultural heritage institutions.

______________________________

There are tabs in this Guide for different types of Spanish and Mexican era material, as shown:

           Documents in Collections

Documents from the AGN (Mexico) at CSWR

Documents from the AGI (Spain) at CSWR

Spanish Documents in Manuscript Collections at CSWR

Spanish and Mexican Archives of New Mexico at CSWR

Documents from the Spanish Colonial Research Center at CSWR

Bejar, Laredo, and Parral Documents at CSWR

Other Document Microfilm Sources at CSWR

 Primary documents published in books

Books with Spanish Documents at CSWR, UNM

Documentos ineditos at CSWR, UNM

Online Sources

Online Spanish Documents

Other Libraries in the US

 Other

Maps at CSWR, UNM and other places

Articles and Databases via UNM


Subject Guide

Profile Image
Nancy Brown-Martinez
Contact Info
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, New Mexico, 87131-0001
USA
Send Email
 

Collaboration

This guide was created with the invaluable assistance of Sue Taylor, Ph.D, History, UNM, while she was the Fray Angelico Chavez Fellow at the CSWR.  Sue is now teaching History at Central New Mexico Community College, Albuquerque.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip