Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
ask a librarian libros all databases reserves interlibrary loan

Admin Sign In 

Grassroots Activism in New Mexico and the Southwest 

Last update: Nov 23rd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unm.edu/activism  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Archives             Print Page
  
 

Activism Archives

 

José Angel Gutierrez, Reies López Tijerina, Rudolfo "Corky" Gonzales at the first National Convention of La Raza Unida Party, 1972. Reies Tijerina Photograph Collection, Center for Southwest Research, 000-654.

 

Movemiento Estudiantil Chicano de Aztlán (MEChA) flyer, Chicano Student Movement at Western New Mexico University Oral History Project. Center for Southwest Research. MSS 599 BC,

 

Resistance at Big Mountain, Sacred Lands Project Collection, Center for Southwest Research, MSS 617 BC

 

Oren Lyons and AIM Members at Wounded Knee Occupation, 1973. Carol Sullivan Photograph Collection, Center for Southwest Research, 000-659.

 

New Mexico political redistricting case, U.S. Supreme Court, 1981.  Frank I. Sanchez Papers, Center for Southwest Research, MSS 612.

 
 

Find ARCHIVES

Grassroots Activism
Archival Materials at the

The CSWR houses many archival materials relating to community grassroots activism in New Mexico and elsewhere. Archives include personal papers, organizational records, oral histories, music archives, and photograph collections.


To search for Grassroots Activism archives
at the CSWR and elsewhere:

Go to the Rocky Mountain Online Archive.

The Rocky Mountain Online Archive lets you search archival collection finding aids (inventories and other detailed descriptive information) from the UNM Center for Southwest Research and over 25 other archival institutions in NM, CO, and WY.


 

Guides to CSWR Grassroots Activism Archives

 

Click below for lists of the archives of grassroots activists and activist organizations at the Center for Southwest Research.  Another version of these guides with photo illustrations can be found on the CSWR webpage (scroll down to "Subject Guides").

Cesar Chávez & the Farmworker Movement

 

Try this new online resource:

Cesar Chavez & His Farmworker Movement, 1962-1993.

Thousands of online photos, music, essays, video, oral history, discussion.

Includes El Malcriado, the United Farmworkers newspaper.

 

Southwest Librarian

Profile ImageAnn Massmann
Contact Info:
Center for Southwest Research
Zimmerman Library
massmann@unm.edu
[Sabbatical leave, July-Dec. 09]

RESEARCH ASSISTANCE:
CSWR Anderson Reading Room
(505) 277-3814
Send Email

Subjects:
Southwest Studies, Native American Studies, Chicano/Hispano Studies, community grassroots activism

 

New Site for Research

UNIV. OF TEXAS LIBRARIES,

The UT Libraries' Human Rights Documentation Initiative (HRDI) is committed to the long-term preservation of fragile and vulnerable records of human rights struggles worldwide, the promotion and secure usage of human rights archival materials, and the advancement of human rights research and advocacy around the world.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait