Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
ask a librarian libros all databases reserves interlibrary loan

Admin Sign In 

Grassroots Activism in New Mexico and the Southwest 

Last update: Jun 07th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unm.edu/activism  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  

Find Articles on Grassroots Activism

 

Suggested databases for finding journal articles and other materials relating to grassroots activism in the Southwest and around the United States.

  • Most databases are accessible only through on-campus computers or using your UNM Net ID.
  • Community users may come to the UNM libraries to gain access.

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    A good all-around general search index for finding articles on diverse topics.
  • America: History & Life  
      
    Definitive index of literature (journal articles, dissertations, book reviews) of the history & culture of the U.S. and Canada. Indexes the New Mexico Historical Review, El Palacio, Western Historical Quarterly, and other important Southwestern journals.
  • Black Studies Center  
      
    Supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
  • Chicano Database  
      
    Index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American and Latino topics.
  • EthnicNewsWatch  
      
    News from ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Major area of focus is ethnic area studies, but also covers arts, business, education, environment, history, journalism, political science, and sociology. 1960 - present.
  • New York Times, 1851-2004  
      
    Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
 

Article Databases

What's a database?? (or, why can't I just use Google?)

 

Databases are tools the Library buys to give students and faculty access to information. Some databases are specific to certain subject areas and will allow you to do in-depth and comprehensive searching in a specific academic discipline. Other databases cover many subject areas well - in other words, they are multidisciplinary. So, why choose a database and not just "the web?" Databases contain specific references to: articles published in periodials; information in books; newspaper stories; and to other types of academic work like theses and dissertations. Many of these sources may have a digital format but are not freely available on the web, meaning that a search engine like Google can't even find them!


The UNM libraries provide a great multidisciplinary database called Academic Search Complete. This database will help you find information for papers and projects from a variety of appropriate sources.

 

If you are looking for newspaper articles on a topic, Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe provides access to recent years of most major U.S. newspapers, including New Mexico sources like the Albuquerque Journal. This database also includes international newspapers.


 

 

Southwest Librarian

Profile ImageAnn Massmann
Contact Info:
Center for Southwest Research
Zimmerman Library
massmann@unm.edu
[Sabbatical leave, July-Dec. 09]

RESEARCH ASSISTANCE:
CSWR Anderson Reading Room
(505) 277-3814
Send Email

Subjects:
Southwest Studies, Native American Studies, Chicano/Hispano Studies, community grassroots activism

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait