Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
ask a librarian libros all databases reserves interlibrary loan

Admin Sign In 

Grassroots Activism in New Mexico and the Southwest 

Last update: Jun 07th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unm.edu/activism  Print Guide  RSS Updates

UNM Student Activism             Print Page
  
 

Books

Books with material on UNM student activism

 

UNM Publications

Look for UNM student activism information and photos by searching specific dates or years in:

 

The UNM student yearbook:

The Mirage, 1898-1975.

 

The UNM student newspaper:

The New Mexico Lobo, 1923-1971 

The New Mexico Daily Lobo, 1971 - present

 
 

UNM Archives

Most of the resources listed on this page can be found in the UNM Center for Southwest Research (CSWR) in Zimmerman Library. The CSWR houses the University Archives which serves as an information resource for all persons interested in the history and development of the University of New Mexico. Among the source materials available to researchers are presidential correspondence; minutes of faculty, student, and staff governance bodies and committee reports of these organizations; records of the Board of Regents; University annual reports; materials from homecomings and commencements; campus architectural planning documents; and campus yearbooks, newspapers, and magazines.

UNM Student Demonstration, 1970. UNM 108, Calvin Horn Collection, UNM Archives.

 

VERTICAL FILES

Vertical Files are miscellaneous or subject files found at the Center for Southwest Research (CSWR).  There are files on different UNM topics, as well as many different New Mexico people, places, events, and topics.  Ask in the CSWR for help finding these files.


UNM Vertical Files at the Center for Southwest Research relating to student activism:

UNM Campus Activism:

-         1960s

-         1960s/70s Vietnam War & draft

-         1969 “Love/Lust” poem controversy

-         1970 student strike

-         1970 student strike – retrospectives

-         1970s

-         1980s

-         1989 tuition increase

-         1990s

-         2000s

-         2000s – Iraq War

-         African American / Black

-         American Indian

-         Anti-Nuclear

-         Chicano / Hispano / Mexicano

 

Ask a CSWR librarian for help finding files on other topics as well, including non-UNM activist organizations in New Meixco.

 

Oral Histories, Photographs, and other Archives

 

Rocky Mountain Online Archive (RMOA) lets you search archival collection finding aids (detailed inventories and more) from the UNM Center for Southwest Research and over 25 other archival institutions in NM, CO, and WY. Find the collections you are interested in RMOA, then come into the Center for Southwest Research or other archives as listed to see the actual documents, photographs, oral histories, etc.


Search the Rocky Mountain Online Archive for STUDENT ACTIVISM collections such as these:

 

Extensive oral history collection includes numerous interviews with student activists and others involved in UNM campus activities and actions such as the takeover of Alcatraz Island (see "Miscellaneous" series). A newsclipping collection provides further information of projects and issues of the time, both on and off Southwest reservations.

Calvin Horn served 9 years on the UNM Board of Regents and is the author of the book "The University in Turmoil & Transition: Crisis Decades at the University of New Mexico." His papers include photographs of the 1970 student strike and research materials for his book, as well as the records from his time as a Regent.

Oral history interviews of the Chicano Student Movement at WNMU, located in Silver City. The goal of this project was to document the history of Chicano student activities at WNMU by recording the recollections of student officers and faculty members associated with these activities.

Papers of Gloria Montoya Chavez, a student, administrator, writer, and advocate for Chicano/a and other minority issues. These papers deal with professional, personal, and political struggle within the University of New Mexico’s Chicano Studies and Chicano Student Services, also known as Hispanic Student Services, and in the surrounding community.

Students in a 1990 class conducted oral history interviews with UNM faculty members who were associated with the Chicano movement as students. The interviews were conducted with the following UNM faculty members: Tomas Atencio, Edward Benavidez, Eduardo Hernandez-Chavez, Sofia Martinez, and JoAnn Valles.

 



 

Southwest Librarian

Profile ImageAnn Massmann
Contact Info:
Center for Southwest Research
Zimmerman Library
massmann@unm.edu
[Sabbatical leave, July-Dec. 09]

RESEARCH ASSISTANCE:
CSWR Anderson Reading Room
(505) 277-3814
Send Email

Subjects:
Southwest Studies, Native American Studies, Chicano/Hispano Studies, community grassroots activism

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait