Find the full-text online
Click on . A new window will open, there are two broad possibilities:
Full text online -- takes you straight to the full-text of the article - yay!
No full text online --the Article Linker screen appears with this message
"Sorry, no online full-text holdings were found."
- Click on the "Login to Request this item" link to request the article through Interlibrary Loan or Library Express.
- You'll need to set up an account the first time you do this, but after that you can login and the form is already filled out for you to submit.
- This works for books and journal articles.
1. You aren't finding anything, or only one or two things that don't really seem quite right.
- Talk with your professor or a librarian, you might need to rethink your topic.
- Reexamine your search terms
- Try out some synonyms or related terms.
- Use fewer search terms (adding search terms will only make it worse).
- Make sure you are searching in the right places - see the recommended resources in this guide.
2. You've found a few GREAT articles or books, but you need more.
Check the Works Cited or Bibliography or References lists from the great sources that you've already located (good on you!).
- Track down the books by searching Worldcat by Title.
- Track down the articles by searching on the "Journal Titles" tab of the search box on the library home page.
Strategies for finding a topic
Search the databases broadly and see if some has written about a place and people that interest you. Example:
- Search Historical Abstracts for "art AND imperialism" - browse the results and pick something interesting.
Choose or find a specific form of art that you like - you can often find something by focusing on a country or a people. Search the library databases to find out more about it's history. Examples:
- African-Americans: blues music
- Russia: propaganda posters from the Russian Revolution
- China: traditional opera
- New Zealand: Maori moko
Researching art, culture and imperialism
Whether you already have a piece of art/culture in mind, or are still looking for one, the library databases can help.
Find journal articles
- Historical and humanities
- General multidisciplinary
- Google Image search
Image sources: Zimmerman West Wing murals, Kenneth Adams, 1939; Spirit of the West by John Gast, 1872
A quick word about search engines (i.e. Google) vs. library databases
The search box looks the same, but the underlying structure is different. Google and it's brethren are easy-going, they'll take what you give them and return something fairly relevant. Library databases (the library catalog, Historical Abstracts, etc.) are picky. They want you to be brief and choose your search terms carefully.
- Keep it simple - limit your first searches to two or three keywords.
- Separate concepts go in separate boxes (if there are multiple search boxes).
- Try variations of your search terms, i.e., drug abuse, drug use, substance abuse, addiction, illegal drugs.
- Use Boolean operators: AND (narrows search, joins different concepts) OR (broadens search, joins similar concepts)
- Use the built in limiters - like date or era or peer-reviewed or language.
Tips for specific resources
- Google Scholar When off-campus, click on the Scholar Preferences link (upper right), go to the Library Links search box and search for the University of New Mexico. Check the box next to "University of New Mexico - Check full text @ UNM." This means that you'll be able to access the full-text of articles from off-campus when using Google Scholar.
- Historical Abstracts Create an EBSCOhost account to save your articles online.
- JSTOR Under "Narrow by" check the box next to "Article" to avoid being inundated with book reviews.
- Project Muse Under "Type of Content" check the box next to "Articles Only."
- Worldcat Use the limiters in the "Refine Your Search" column to make your search more specific.