Where to start
Feel overwhelmed by all of the information available to you? Wondering why you can just use google and wikipedia? They're nice places to start identifying vocabulary and to find publicly accessible resources on your topic. But you can find lots more useful information on well managed databases, on electronic content sites and in -- good old fashioned- libraries and archives. Use everything available. This page should help you sort through the mess. Please contact me with any questions. My info is to the right of this message.
Library Catalogs
Library catalogs tell you where to find - sometimes physically and sometimes electronically -- books, journals, magazines, DVDs and other visual or sound resources. If we don't have something here, look for it on WorldCat. We can get it through Inter-Library Loan (ILL). Check the Internet archive as well for free access to lots of electronically/digitally available resources ..
Electronic Encyclopedias
As noted above, wikipedia is a good place to start, but it should never be the last place you visit. These encyclopedias will offer some of the same information and more because entries are written by people with expertise on the subjects covered.
Electronic Texts
There is nothing quite like an electronic book or text (screenplay, performance) especially for research purposes. Unlike the books on our shelves, these are always available and always accessible.These resources also allow you to hyper-text connect through subject terms or index terms and through tables of contents. Even better, you can use the "Control F" feature to search these texts for your keywords.
- Ebrary titles on Latin America
- Netlibrary titles on Latin America
- ACLS Humanities E-Book
- World Digital Library
- Sabin Americana
- Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro
- Contemporary World Music
- Digital Collections (UNM)
- Congressional Universe
- Declassified Documents Reference System
- World Development Indicators
- Andean Community Publications
Electronic Bibliographies
The best place to start your research is by accessing what others have already done. Thankfully, there are some great electronic bibliographies to help. Check these out
Article Databases
Databases collect articles from thousands of individual books, journals, newspapers and magazines. Better yet, they organize those articles into "metadata" which you can search with keywords, author's names, titles, subjects etc. Since they're organized to collect only articles from reputable journals, newspapers and magazines -- you won't have to wade through a lot of individual or organizational web pages, which may or may not be useful.
Primary Resources
Examining events from first person accounts a great way to have fun with your research. Listed here is our manuscript finding aid: The Rocky Mountain On-line Archive, as well as our digital collections and other digitally available primary sources. Most of these are freely accessible to anyone from anywhere.
- Rocky Mountain Online Archive
- UNM Digital Collections
- Brazilian Government Documents Digitization Project
- Smithsonian's Archivos Virtuales (Latino and Latin American Artists Oral Interviews)
- Latino Cultural Heritage Digital Archives
- Mexican Boundary (Hearing 1908)
- Tamarind Institute Catalogue
- Declassified Documents Reference System
- World Development Indicators
- Congressional Universe
- Princeton (Taller de Gráfica prints and posters)
- University of Miami (Cuban Heritage Collection)
- Augusto C. Sandino, 1895-1937
- National Security Archive (Latin America)
Web References
Some websites offer great infromation. Check these out.
- Library of Congress (Country Studies)
- Historical Text Archive
- LatinAmerican Network Information Center
- Internet Resources for Latin America
- Political Database of the Americas
- Humanities Net (Latin America)
- Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Material Wiki
- UNESCO Archive Portal
- Library of Congress (Hispanic Reading Room)
- Research Sites (LatinAmerican History) R. Slatta
- Iberian Studies Web
- Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholars
LAIS Communities
- Latin American and Iberian Institute at UNM
- Latin American Studies (UNM)
- Student Organization on Latin American Studies (SOLAS)
- Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs
- Latin American Studies Association
- Rocky Mountain Council for Latin American Studies
- Center for Latin American Resources and Outreach
- Office of International Studies and Programs (UNM)
- National Hispanic Cultural Center
- Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Secretariat
- Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
- Inter American Development Bank (IADB)
- Organization of American States
- Brazilian Studies Association
- Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials
- Humanities Net -- Latin America
Curator LAIS |
Suzanne SchadlHerzstein Latin American Reading Room
Zimmerman Library
MSC05 3020
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
505-277-8637
Send Email
Subjects:
Latin American, Iberian, Hispanic and American studies
News Databases
News databases collect articles from thousands of newspapers. Just like other article databases, they organize those works into, what we in library land call, metadata, which you can search with keywords.
- Lexis Nexis
- Latin American Newsstand (Use Search Terms here too)
- World News Connection
- INFORME (Spanish Periodicals) Use Search Terms here
- Hispanic American Center for Economic Research
- Broadcast Live (Newspapers from Latin America)
- Periodicals Archive Online
- Latin American Database

- Cuba-L
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait