Digitized Collections
- Digital Collections @ UNM
- Center for Research Libraries
- Valley of the Shadow (US Civil War)
- Digital National Security Archive
- U. S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
- Internet Archive
- National Archives (On-line Historical Archives)
- European Library (Open Portal)
- WWI Document Archive
- Rutgers Oral History Archives (WWII, Korea, Vietnam & Cold War)
- The International Military Tribunal for Germany (Contents of The Nuremberg Trials Collection)
- 9/11 Digital Archive
- Black Past (List African-American Digital Archives)
- California Underground Railroad
- Historical Text Archive
- Bracero History Archive
- Civil Rights in Mississippi (Digital Archive)
- Early Americas (Digital Archive)
- Influenza Digital Archive
- Foreign Relations of the United States
- Library of Congress--American Memory Project
- World history Sources GMU
Historical Newspapers
Welcome
Hello, this page should help you access some exemplary electronic archival collections and finding aids while also providing tips for searching the web for such resources.
Increased access and attention to digitized collections is making a lot of information available across institutions and seems to help inspire interest in those physical collections, one the part of the researcher and on the part of the donor. Simply put, digitization makes more people aware of collections and gives more people access to specific collections, which has had the result of pulling people into physical archival spaces at a much greater rate.
As dissertation researchers, you are in a great place for identifying appropriate archival collections and for utilizing the electronic space as an opportunity. the old rules "don't use google" really cannot apply in the world of digitized archives. They are created for people to find through those engines.
Archival Finding Aid
An archival finding aid will help you locate physical manuscript collections rather than take you to images of actual documents. Check out or local finding aid and see if there is anything in our Center for Southwest Research (CSWR) which may be interesting.
A Useful Google Search
As noted above digital archives are constructed to get attention from average users. We know you're not average, but anyway .. Regardless of whether you chosse an advanced option or the basic search, know that Google Scholar is for articles and books, not archives typically. Simialry, though the news archive will often allow you to pay for an archived news option, it does not give you access to digital archives. Tell google exactly what you want. Use the words digital and archive and whatever topic you're researching. For example digital and archive and influenza 1918, will line the digital archives up first ...

Curator LAIS |
Suzanne SchadlHerzstein Latin American Reading Room
Zimmerman Library
MSC05 3020
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
505-277-8637
Send Email
Subjects:
Latin American, Iberian, Hispanic and American studies
Your Suggestions!
Since so many of you have worked with such great stuff, feel free to add links for all of us. It's a great expression of the intellectual process.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait