Anthropology MicroformsCensus MicroformsEducation MicroformsEnvironment MicroformsGeography MicroformsHistory MicroformsHuman/Civil Rights MicroformsIndigenous Studies MicroformsLanguage and Literature MicroformsMicroforms by CountryMilitary Studies MicroformsPolitical Science, Government and Law MicroformsReligion and Philosphy MicroformsScience MicroformsSocial Science MicroformsWomen's Studies Microforms
Brazilian Small Press CollectionColumbian Quincentenary ArchiveFrance V. Scholes PapersJosé Toribio Medina CollectionLatin American Photographic MaterialsLatin American Posters (Slick)Latin American Travel NarrativesMaximilian-French Intervention MaterialMexican and Luso-Brazilian Almanacs & CalendariosMexican Bookplate CollectionMexican Popular Graphic MaterialNew Mexico Archives and Spanish Colonial DocumentsOaxacan Research CollectionT. Lynn Smith Rural Sociology ArchiveVan De Velde and Catron
Afro-Mexican ExhibitCuba ResourcesEphemera ResearchOn Travel NarrativesYuyanapaq: Para Recordar
Dr. Bieber (Methods)Dr. Gauderman (Early Latin Am.)Dr. Gauderman (Early Mexico)Dr. Hall (IA Realtions)Dr. Hall (Social Movements)Dr. Hutchison (Research Seminar)Dr. Lopez (Research Methods)Dr. McKnight (Spanish 431)Dr. MilleretDr. Schadl (LAS 400)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
ask a librarian libros all databases reserves interlibrary loan

Admin Sign In 

Latin American and Iberian Studies  Tags: latin_american_iberian_collections  

The Division of Iberian and Latin American Resources and Services (DILARES), a multi-departmental unit within the UNM University Libraries. This guide reflects the resources and services we offer researchers anywhere.
Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unm.edu/DILARES  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dr. Lopez (Research Methods)             Print Page
  
 

Reaseach Tips

1). The library catalog includes books, DVDs, and journal titles. It does not include article titles.

2). The best place to articles is in a database like the MLA International.

3). An author search will only find publications by that author. It won't find publications about that author.

4). Keyword or Subject searches are best if you're looking for works on an author.

5). We have free Interlibrary Loan access to anything you can find in WorldCat.

6). Keyword searches for Latin America will only search those terms, not individual countries or regions within Latin America.

7). Databases search contemporary listings, so you won't find a medieval author in a database.

8), If you want for find articles on an older author, search the name as a Keyword or Subject.

 
 

Welcome

Hello, I designed this page to help you access library resources and to avoid some common pitfalls. Please feel free to contact me with any questions you might have. My contact info is to the right of this message. You can always visit me in the Herzstein Room during my office hours on Wednesday evening from 5-7 or Sunday evening from 6-9. If those times don't work, you can find me at El Centro de la Raza, On Monday and Wednesday morning from 10-12. 

First Things First

You should start by signing up for an ILLIAD account if you don't alreadyhave one. This account will enable you to order books through Inter-Library Loan and articles through Library Express.

Key Research Links

Look up Isabel Allende as "author"--and as a "subject" in the MLA International Bib. How many articles appear under each? What happens when you limit your search -- how many can you find in English? what if you limit yyour search, not by language but by dates and look only for the last ten year. How many articles can you find. What if you add another search box - likeLa casa de los  espíritus as subject? Let's try HAPI too: How many articles does it have on Isabel Allende as "keyword"?  How many of these  were published from 2000 to the present? What does the relative number of articles on this author on MLA  versus HAPI tell us about the kind and number of journals catalogued  by the two databases?

 

 

 

 

 

Curator LAIS

Profile ImageSuzanne Schadl
Contact Info:
Herzstein Latin American Reading Room
Zimmerman Library
MSC05 3020
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
505-277-8637
Send Email

Subjects:
Latin American, Iberian, Hispanic and American studies

Library Catalogs

Here's your task: Look up the books Borges y la ciencia: and Outlandish: Writing between Exile and Diaspora  on LIBROS, who wrote it? What's the call numer? Where is it? Let's go find it...

 

 

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait