Check These Out
When checking the library catalog, use the term social movements. Searching that term with Latin America will yield a large return, but it's only a fractions of what's available. Remember that Latin America is made up of 20 countries. You can find even more by searching social movements and a country. If you know of a particular movement search it as a keyword.
Social movements, indigenous politics and democratisation in Guatemala, 1985-1996 - Roddy Brett
Call Number: HN143.5 .B7413 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 9004165525
Highland Indians and the state in modern Ecuador - Marc Becker
Call Number: F3721.1.S54 H55 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0822943360
Revolutions and revolutionary movements - James DeFronzo
Call Number: HM876 .D44 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0813343542
Imperialism, neoliberalism and social struggles in Latin America - Richard A. Dello Buono and José Bell Lara
Call Number: HC125 .I3617 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 9004153659
Latin American social movements : globalization, democratization, and transnational networks - Hank Johnston and Paul Almeida
Call Number: HN110.5.A8 L397 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0742553329
Power and popular protest : Latin American social movements - Susan Eckstein ; contributors, Manuel Antonio Garretón M. ... [et al.]
Call Number: HN110.5.A8 P69 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0520227050
Welcome
Hello, I designed this page to help you access library resources (including databases and books, special collections and some cool web sources). I hope you'll find many of them interesting and helpful. To start I've included some feature books (to the left), useful database resources and special stuff (below). Please feel free to contact me (my contact info is to the right of this message) should you have any questions. I have office hours on Wednesday evening from 5-7 and Sunday evenings from 6-9 or by appointment. I look forward to working with you!
Microfilmed Documents
One of the best places to find primary documentation of social movements in the library is on microfilm. Click on the Microform tab above to pull down a menu of microfilmed materials. For the purposes of this course, pay special attention to "Social Sciences Microforms" and "Human Rights and Civil Movements" microfoms, but check out the list to identify what's right for you. When you see something you'd like to look at click on it for information on its location. If it says "Click to page" do so, and make sure to enter your unm e-mail address so circulation can notify you when the film is ready.
Manuscript Material
Another great place to find primary documentation of social movements in manuscript collections in the Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections.
Special Stuff
Digital archives are the contemporary answer to microfilm. they're great because you can see primary documents from your computer screen, making documents available farther and wider.
- Jose Guadalupe Posada Collection of Mexican Popular Prints (UNM)
- New Mexico News Papers (UNM)
- Pancho Villa 1916 Punitive Expedition (UNM)
- Latin American Posters (UNM)
- Taller de Grafica Popular (UNM)
- Latin American Pamphlet Collection (Harvard)
- Mexican Border Campaign Veterans' Card File Indexes (Penn)
- El Clamor Publico (USC)
- Smithsonian Oral Histories (Chicano History)
- Cuban Heritage Collection (U. Miami)
- Latino Cultural Heritage Digital Archives (UC-Northridge)
- World Digital Library (Latin American & Caribbean
- Virtual Museums/Libraries -- Latin America
Article Databases
Databases collect articles from thousands of individual books, journals, newspapers and magazines. Better yet, they organize those articles into "metadata" which you can search with keywords, author's names, titles, subjects etc. Since they're organized to collect only articles from reputable journals, newspapers and magazines -- you won't have to wade through a lot of individual or organizational web pages, which may or may not be useful.
Curator LAIS |
Suzanne SchadlHerzstein Latin American Reading Room
Zimmerman Library
MSC05 3020
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
505-277-8637
Send Email
Subjects:
Latin American, Iberian, Hispanic and American studies
Library Catalogs
If we don't have something here, look for it on WorldCat. We can get it through Inter-Library Loan (ILL). Check the Internet archive as well for free access to lots of electronically/digitally available resources ..
Electronic Bibliographies
Bibliographic databases allow you to access what others have already done, which really helps with your historiography or literature review. Check these out
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait