Anthropology MicroformsCensus MicroformsEducation MicroformsEnvironment MicroformsGeography MicroformsHistory MicroformsHuman/Civil Rights MicroformsIndigenous Studies MicroformsLanguage and Literature MicroformsMicroforms by CountryMilitary Studies MicroformsPolitical Science, Government and Law MicroformsReligion and Philosphy MicroformsScience MicroformsSocial Science MicroformsWomen's Studies Microforms
Brazilian Small Press CollectionColumbian Quincentenary ArchiveFrance V. Scholes PapersJosé Toribio Medina CollectionLatin American Photographic MaterialsLatin American Posters (Slick)Latin American Travel NarrativesMaximilian-French Intervention MaterialMexican and Luso-Brazilian Almanacs & CalendariosMexican Bookplate CollectionMexican Popular Graphic MaterialNew Mexico Archives and Spanish Colonial DocumentsOaxacan Research CollectionT. Lynn Smith Rural Sociology ArchiveVan De Velde and Catron
Afro-Mexican ExhibitCuba ResourcesEphemera ResearchOn Travel NarrativesYuyanapaq: Para Recordar
Dr. Bieber (Methods)Dr. Gauderman (Early Latin Am.)Dr. Gauderman (Early Mexico)Dr. Hall (IA Realtions)Dr. Hall (Social Movements)Dr. Hutchison (Research Seminar)Dr. Lopez (Research Methods)Dr. McKnight (Spanish 431)Dr. MilleretDr. Schadl (LAS 400)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
ask a librarian libros all databases reserves interlibrary loan

Admin Sign In 

Latin American and Iberian Studies  Tags: latin_american_iberian_collections  

The Division of Iberian and Latin American Resources and Services (DILARES), a multi-departmental unit within the UNM University Libraries. This guide reflects the resources and services we offer researchers anywhere.
Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unm.edu/DILARES  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dr. Schadl (LAS 400)             Print Page
  

Our Books

So as not to shock you with too many titles ( we will be reading selections from books rather than full monographs) I will update this list and ask you to update your bookshelf regurally. This box also enables me to add suggested reading from some of the many physical books available in the library.

Library Catalogs

If we don't have something here, look for it on WorldCat. We can get it through Inter-Library Loan (ILL). Check the Internet archive as well for free access to lots of electronically/digitally available resources ..

Article Databases

Databases collect articles from thousands of individual books, journals, newspapers and magazines. Better yet, they organize those articles into "metadata" which you can search with keywords, author's names, titles, subjects etc. Since they're organized to collect only articles from reputable journals, newspapers and magazines -- you won't have to wade through a lot of individual or organizational web pages, which may or may not be useful.

 

Sem Terra (Social Movement)

 

Gomez Pena


Loading Video Clip...
 

Calice (Lyrics)

 

During Brazil's military coup d'état of 1964, Buarque wrote about the events which transpired and avoided censorship by using cryptic analogies and wordplay. For example, in the song "Cálice" (English: "Goblet", "Chalice", "Cup" as used by Jesus at the Last Supper) he takes advantage of the homophony between the Portuguese words for "shut up" (cale-se) and "goblet" (cálice) to disguise criticism of censorship and oppression as a Bible story:

Lyrics (in Portuguese)

Pai, afasta de mim esse cálice
De vinho tinto de sangue.
Como beber dessa bebida amarga
Tragar a dor, engolir a labuta.
Mesmo calada a boca, resta o peito
Silêncio na cidade não se escuta.
De que me vale ser filho da santa
Melhor seria ser filho da outra
Outra realidade menos morta
Tanta mentira, tanta força bruta.
[...]

Translation

Father, take from me this cup
of wine tinted red with blood.
How can I drink this bitter drink
Inhale the pain, swallow the drudgery.
Even if the mouth is shut, the heart still remains
Silence isn't heard in the city.
What good is it to me be a son of the saint
Better to be a son of the other (N.B.: Instead of "outra" - "other", "escuta" and "bruta" rhyme with "prostituta", the Portuguese word for "prostitute")
Another reality less dead
So many lies, so much brute force.
[...]

From: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chico_Buarque

 

Futivol


Loading Video Clip...
 

Curator LAIS

Profile ImageSuzanne Schadl
Contact Info:
Herzstein Latin American Reading Room
Zimmerman Library
MSC05 3020
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
505-277-8637
Send Email

Subjects:
Latin American, Iberian, Hispanic and American studies

Electronic Bibliographies

Bibliographic databases allow you to access what others have already done, which really helps with your historiography or literature review.  Check these out

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait