Anthropology MicroformsCensus MicroformsEducation MicroformsEnvironment MicroformsGeography MicroformsHistory MicroformsHuman/Civil Rights MicroformsIndigenous Studies MicroformsLanguage and Literature MicroformsMicroforms by CountryMilitary Studies MicroformsPolitical Science, Government and Law MicroformsReligion and Philosphy MicroformsScience MicroformsSocial Science MicroformsWomen's Studies Microforms
Brazilian Small Press CollectionColumbian Quincentenary ArchiveFrance V. Scholes PapersJosé Toribio Medina CollectionLatin American Photographic MaterialsLatin American Posters (Slick)Latin American Travel NarrativesMaximilian-French Intervention MaterialMexican and Luso-Brazilian Almanacs & CalendariosMexican Bookplate CollectionMexican Popular Graphic MaterialNew Mexico Archives and Spanish Colonial DocumentsOaxacan Research CollectionT. Lynn Smith Rural Sociology ArchiveVan De Velde and Catron
Afro-Mexican ExhibitCuba ResourcesEphemera ResearchOn Travel NarrativesYuyanapaq: Para Recordar
Dr. Bieber (Methods)Dr. Gauderman (Early Latin Am.)Dr. Gauderman (Early Mexico)Dr. Hall (IA Realtions)Dr. Hall (Social Movements)Dr. Hutchison (Research Seminar)Dr. Lopez (Research Methods)Dr. McKnight (Spanish 431)Dr. MilleretDr. Schadl (LAS 400)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
ask a librarian libros all databases reserves interlibrary loan

Admin Sign In 

Latin American and Iberian Studies  Tags: latin_american_iberian_collections  

The Division of Iberian and Latin American Resources and Services (DILARES), a multi-departmental unit within the UNM University Libraries. This guide reflects the resources and services we offer researchers anywhere.
Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unm.edu/DILARES  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Yuyanapaq: Para Recordar             Print Page
  
 

Preview of Exhibit


Loading Video Clip...
 

Yuyanapaq: Para Recordar

 "Yuyanapaq: Para Recordar", which means to remember in Quechua and Spanish respectively, includes 40 well-traveled and sobering photographs chosen from a 2003 Peruvian Truth and Reconciliation Commission exhibit exceeding 200 pieces of photo-journalism taken throughout a 20 –year civil conflict between the Peruvian Military, the Shining Path and the Tupac Amaru Revolutionary Movement.

The austere, and sometimes disturbing, images in this exhibit are testimonials to the suffering of the Peruvian people during the last two decades of the 20th century, a time known by many as manchaytimpu, or “time of fear”. Together the above mentioned armies murdered or disappeared over 70,000 people in Peru. "Yuyanapaq: Para Recordar" documents some of many atrocities committed in Peru to inform outsiders and to record for Peruvians a memory of the slaughter they have suffered.

The Department of Inter-American Studies within the University Libraries is proud to host this important and emotionally moving exhibit, with sponsorship from University Libraries’ Division of Iberian & Latin American Resources & Services (DILARES), the Latin American & Iberian Institute, SOLAS and the Southwest Institute for Religion and Civil Society.

Please visit this exhibit in Zimmerman’s 2nd floor lobby and Herzstein Reading and Conference Rooms. You can see a sneak preview beginning April 21. We will host an opening reception on May 7, 2009 from 3:30-6:30 PM and a colloqiuim during the week of May 17-23. This exhibit will remain up through June 12, 2007.

For additional information on Yuyanapaq or the Peruvian Truth and Reconciliation commission, please see, their official website at http://www.cverdad.org.pe/apublicas/p-fotografico/e_yuyanapacha.php.

For questions regarding the exhibit at University Libraries, please contact Suzanne Schadl, schadl@unm.edu

 

Curator LAIS

Profile ImageSuzanne Schadl
Contact Info:
Herzstein Latin American Reading Room
Zimmerman Library
MSC05 3020
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
505-277-8637
Send Email

Subjects:
Latin American, Iberian, Hispanic and American studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait