Books from Our Collection
If you're interested in reading more about the African experience in Latin America, here are some of the books that are in UNM's collection.
Black blood brothers : confraternities and social mobility for Afro-Mexicans - Nicole von Germeten
Call Number: BR610 .G47 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0813029422
Crossing waters, crossing worlds : the African diaspora in Indian country - Tiya Miles and Sharon P. Holland
Call Number: E98.R28 C76 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0822338653
Blacks in colonial Veracruz : race, ethnicity, and regional development - Patrick J. Carroll
Call Number: F1371 .C298 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0292712332
Beyond black and red : African-native relations in colonial Latin America - Matthew Restall
Call Number: F1419.A1 B49 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0826324037
Beyond slavery : the multilayered legacy of Africans in Latin America and the Caribbean - Darién J. Davis
Call Number: F1419.N4 B49 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0742541304
The African experience in Spanish America - Leslie B. Rout
Call Number: F1419.N4 R68 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 155876321X
A history of Afro-Hispanic language : five centuries, five continents - A history of Afro-Hispanic language : five centuries, five continents
Call Number: PC4582.A5 L56 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0521822653
Christians, blasphemers, and witches : Afro-Mexican ritual practice in the seventeenth century - Joan Cameron Bristol
Call Number: F1392.B55 B75 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0826337996
Slaves, subjects, and subversives : blacks in colonial Latin America - Jane G. Landers, & Barry M. Robinson
Call Number: F1419.N4 S53 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0826323979
Afro-Mexicano
“Celebrating African-American History Month: Recognizing Afro-Latinos and February 9th, 2009 – March 13th, 2009
Suzanne M. Schadl & Tarah Kessé
Inter-American Library Programs would like to celebrate African American History Month by recognizing the long history of African peoples in the This exhibit focuses on the African presence in what was once New Spain and is now A handful of current academics, like Douglas Richmond, Odile Hoffman, Paulette Ramsay, Frank T. Proctor III, Álvaro Ochoa Serrano, Ben Vinson III and Bobby Vaughn continue to examine African influences in A recent exhibit entitled the “African Presence in We hope the images in this case, the books to the left, and the references offered here inspire you to reexamine some of the many resources we have in our circulating and special collections. You can also check out the resources noted on this page.
Recent Articles
If you interested in reading more current articles on Afro-Latinos, here are some Peer Reviewed Scholarly Articles.
- Brazilian Racial Democracy, 1900-90: An American Counterpoint

- The African Experience in Early Spanish America

- Playing Ball in a Black and White "Field of Dreams": Afro-Caribbean Ballplayers in the Negro Leagues 1910-1950

- The Anthropology of Afro-Latin America and the Caribbean: Diasporic Dimensions

- A Twenty-First-Century Agenda for Teaching the History of Modern Afro-Latin America and the Caribbean

- "Black Behind the Ears" and Up Front too? Dominicans in "The Black Mosaic"

Additional Resources
The resources below are really just a sampling of the vast resources on the African Diaspora in Latin American and Iberian resources. I would encourage anyone to contact Suzanne Schadl, schadl@unm.edu for help, should they desire assistance.
Relevant Journals in the Herzstein Room
Though many of the journals in this room will run articles dealing with the African Diaspora in Latin American and Caribbean history, society, culture and etc; the Afro-Hispanic Review (PQ 7081 A1 A36I is quite obvious.
Researchers and students can locate other pertinent articles by
1. going to elibrary@unm.edu
2. clicking on the bottom grey box entitled “Special Collections and Research Programs”
3. clicking on “Latin American and Iberian Resources”
4. clicking on subject guides to the left
5. clicking on “Latin American History”
6. following the “Locating Articles” link
For Example: In The Handbook of Latin American Studies (general bibliography of works hand-picked by scholars in the field) the subject heading “African Diaspora” yields, 401 items with one of those terms in the title and five with both: Below are the first several.
Similarly HAPI (the Hispanic American Periodicals Index, which offers bibliographic data on articles) pulled up 34, also listed below
Once the student/researcher locates something they want to find, they can search book titles in LIBROS and articles (not easily linked to from HLAS or HAPI) in PRISMA, JSTOR, Historical Abstracts – which all work great for articles. I’ve included Subject headings for books below these listings, which will also work for article searches in any of the above resources
FOR BOOKS on the African Diaspora in Latin America and the One could search varied terms (subject headings) and replace 1. Blacks— AUTHOR Rout, Leslie B., 1936- TITLE The African experience in with a new introduction and bibliographical update by Miriam Jiménez Román and Juan Flores. PUBLISHER As Country Specific Blacks— LOCATIONS ZIM AUTHOR Portugal Ortiz, Max. TITLE La esclavitud negra en las epocas colonial y nacional de Bolivia / Max Portugal Ortiz. PUBLISHER La Paz : Instituto Boliviano de Cultura, 1977 [i.e. 1978]
Curator LAIS |
Suzanne SchadlHerzstein Latin American Reading Room
Zimmerman Library
MSC05 3020
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
505-277-8637
Send Email
Subjects:
Latin American, Iberian, Hispanic and American studies
Libros Latinos (Books for Sale)
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait