Anthropology MicroformsCensus MicroformsEducation MicroformsEnvironment MicroformsGeography MicroformsHistory MicroformsHuman/Civil Rights MicroformsIndigenous Studies MicroformsLanguage and Literature MicroformsMicroforms by CountryMilitary Studies MicroformsPolitical Science, Government and Law MicroformsReligion and Philosphy MicroformsScience MicroformsSocial Science MicroformsWomen's Studies Microforms
Brazilian Small Press CollectionColumbian Quincentenary ArchiveFrance V. Scholes PapersJosé Toribio Medina CollectionLatin American Photographic MaterialsLatin American Posters (Slick)Latin American Travel NarrativesMaximilian-French Intervention MaterialMexican and Luso-Brazilian Almanacs & CalendariosMexican Bookplate CollectionMexican Popular Graphic MaterialNew Mexico Archives and Spanish Colonial DocumentsOaxacan Research CollectionT. Lynn Smith Rural Sociology ArchiveVan De Velde and Catron
Afro-Mexican ExhibitCuba ResourcesEphemera ResearchOn Travel NarrativesYuyanapaq: Para Recordar
Dr. Bieber (Methods)Dr. Gauderman (Early Latin Am.)Dr. Gauderman (Early Mexico)Dr. Hall (IA Realtions)Dr. Hall (Social Movements)Dr. Hutchison (Research Seminar)Dr. Lopez (Research Methods)Dr. McKnight (Spanish 431)Dr. MilleretDr. Schadl (LAS 400)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
ask a librarian libros all databases reserves interlibrary loan

Admin Sign In 

Latin American and Iberian Studies  Tags: latin_american_iberian_collections  

The Division of Iberian and Latin American Resources and Services (DILARES), a multi-departmental unit within the UNM University Libraries. This guide reflects the resources and services we offer researchers anywhere.
Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unm.edu/DILARES  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Latin American Photographic Materials             Print Page
  

Search Collection

 
 

Latin American Photographic Materials

The Library has significant holdings of Latin American photography (c. 1860 to c. 1970) of interest to researchers in many disciplines. Locales include Mexico, Central, and South America. Subjects include archaeology, ethnology, architecture, art, politics, popular culture, landscapes, economic activities, and scenes of everyday life. A variety of photographic formats are represented: cartes-de-visite, albumen prints, postcards, slides, glass negatives, and modern prints -- some of exhibition quality. Of special interest are cartes-de-visite portraits of Maximilian and his circle and tipos populares (street vendors) by the Cruces y Campa Studio, Mayan monuments taken by Alfred P. Maudslay and Teobert Maler, railroad photographs by William Henry Jackson, Vistas mexicanas series by E. Briquet, political and military leaders of the Revolution of 1910 and scenes of the Revolutionary scenes taken by L.R. Pimentel, Hugo Brehme landscapes of Popocatepetl in eruption, C.B. Waite's tropical plantation views, 19th- and 20th-century mining photographs, Marc Ferrez's Albumen prints of Rio de Janeiro, early (1860s) views of Corrientes (Argentina), and 20th-century study of Andean Indians by George Bunzl. Many new acquisitions have been added to this continually growing collection. (For information concerning the use and copying of photographic materials, contact Mike Kelley, Acting Curator of Pictorial Collections, Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM 87131 )

 

Curator LAIS

Profile ImageSuzanne Schadl
Contact Info:
Herzstein Latin American Reading Room
Zimmerman Library
MSC05 3020
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
505-277-8637
Send Email

Subjects:
Latin American, Iberian, Hispanic and American studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait