Lopez (Research Methods)Schadl (LatAm 400)Tiano (Sociology 509)Ying Xu (English 297) -- CorridosBieber (Slavery in the Americas)Avila (Mexcio in Arts)Spanish 301-008 (Veritch Woodside)
BooksArticles/DatabasesLatin American LibrariesRelated BlogsInternet ResourcesMapsNewspapersArchivesImagesRadio
This is the "Help Me Find" page of the "Latin American and Iberian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin American and Iberian Studies   Tags: iberian_studies, latin_american_colletions, latin_american_history, latin_american_studies  

Research help in Latin American Studies and Iberian Studies.
Last Updated: Aug 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.unm.edu/lais Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Help Me Find Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Bien Venido/Bem Vindo

Welcome to this research guide. Please e-mail me if you would like to suggest additions to the library collection, arrange a research consultation, schedule library training for your class, or learn more about our Latin American collections.

Bienvenidos a esta guía de investigación. Por favor, mande un e-mail si usted desea sugerir adiciones a la colección, organizar una consulta de investigación, programar una sesión de investigaciones para su clase, o aprender más sobre nuestras colecciones de América Latina.

Bem-vindo a este guia de pesquisa. Por favor email se você gostaria de sugerir acréscimos ao acervo da biblioteca, marcar uma consulta, fazer programação para sua aula, ou  saber mais sobre nossas coleções latino-americanas.

 

Aprovechen

If you are not already affiliated with UNM, but are interested in learning more about our Latin American Collections, please e-mail or call 505-277-8637.

 

Thinking about Library Research?

 

Where To Start

In this electronically charged research environment, we sometimes forget that the fastest way to the sources for research papers are right under our noses. Don’t forget about

1)      Your course syllabus: believe it or not, this can be an invaluable source because it contains (in addition to assignments and due dates)

a.       The names of authors

b.      The titles of books (which have well-thought out bibliographies)

c.       The titles or articles and journals

2)      The bibliography in the book or article that got you interested in this topic: In addition to new ideas for further development and new vocabularies for keyword searches, these books and articles have lists called bibliographies with:

a.       The names of authors

b.      The titles of books (which have well-thought out bibliographies)

c.       The titles or articles and journals

Once you have an author’s name or a title you can search it in

a catalog like this one: WorldCat

            Worldcat gives you locations for books and links to articles

                        Once you have those, check their bibliographies

or a database like this one: Google Scholar

            Google Scholar helps find more sources with its Cited By list

Once you have the name of an important journal from your professor, you can search it here

            Once you find an electronic copy of the journal, browse a bit – see what interests you

Curator/Librarian

Profile Image
Suzanne Schadl
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Zimmerman Library 294
505-277-8637
schadl@unm.edu
skype: suzanne schadl
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip