Style Manuals, Bibliographic Tools, & Writing Guides
Anthropology style manuals
Return to the Reference Tools page.
- American Anthropological Association (AAA) Style Guide"This guide is an outline of style rules basic to our journal editing."
APA style manuals
Return to the Reference Tools page.
- APA - Citing Business DatabasesExamples of citation styles from key periodical indexes, directories, company & government web sites, and more.
- APA - Video Tutorials from the Alvin Sherman Library at Nova Southeastern UniversityHow to videos on some key features of APA formatting.
- APA Style for Electronic Resources (American Psychological Association)"Excerpted from the new 5th edition of the Publication Manual. The material provided covers commonly asked questions regarding how to cite electronic media."
- Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your PaperExamples from APA, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian. From the Duke University Libraries.
- Citing References in Your PaperExamples from various style manuals including American Political Science Association, APA, Chicago, Turabian, Council of Biology Editors, and MLA. From the Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
- Purdue OWL: APAFrom the Purdue Online Writing Lab, detailed instructions for formatting an academic paper using the APA style.
Chicago Manual of Style
Return to the Reference Tools page.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online - UNM only"The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions." 15th edition. UNM only.
- Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your PaperExamples from APA, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian. From the Duke University Libraries.
- Citing References in Your PaperExamples from various style manuals including American Political Science Association, APA, Chicago, Turabian, Council of Biology Editors, and MLA. From the Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Government Publications style manuals
Return to the Reference Tools page.
- Citing Government PublicationsFrom the Government Publications Department, Regional Depository Library at the University of Memphis.
- Government Printing Office Style Manual"Primarily a GPO printer's stylebook".
Legal writing style manuals
Return to the Reference Tools page.
- Bluebook"The Bluebook continues to provide a systematic method by which members of the profession communicate important information..." This is not a free website but there are some basic tips available at no charge.
- Legal Citations from Cornell Law SchoolIntroduction to Basic Legal Citation (LII 2006 ed.) by Peter W. Martin.
MLA (Modern Language Association) style manuals
Return to the Reference Tools page.
- Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your PaperExamples from APA, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian. From the Duke University Libraries.
- Citing References in Your PaperExamples from various style manuals including American Political Science Association, APA, Chicago, Turabian, Council of Biology Editors, and MLA. From the Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
- How to Write a Term PaperSuggestions for choosing a topic, developing a thesis, evaluating sources, organizing the paper, and preparing a works cited page using MLA. From Gale Publishers.
- MLA Formatting and Style GuideFrom the Writing Lab & The OWL at Purdue University, "this resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page."
- MLA Research and Documentation Online by Diana HackerMLA formatting style for English and other humanities. Includes sample papers.
- Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style GuideFrom the Purdue Online Writing Lab, detailed instructions for formatting an academic paper using the MLA style.
Political Science style manuals
Return to the Reference Tools page.
- APSA style from the Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin-MadisonHelp with the reference page and in-text citations following the APSA documentation style.
Sociology style manuals
Return to the Reference Tools page.
- American Sociological Association (ASA) style from OWL at Purdue"Includes information about manuscript formatting, in-text citations, formatting the references page, and accepted manuscript writing style. The bibliographical format described here is taken from the American Sociological Association (ASA) Style Guide, 4th edition."
- Quick Style Guide from ASA"This document has been provided to assist students studying Sociology in properly citing and referencing their papers and essays. The information in this document is taken from American Sociological Association Style Guide (3rd ed.), 2007."
Turabian style manuals
Return to the Reference Tools page.
- Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your PaperExamples from APA, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian. From the Duke University Libraries.
- Citing References in Your PaperExamples from various style manuals including American Political Science Association, APA, Chicago, Turabian, Council of Biology Editors, and MLA. From the Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.


Loading...
