Skip to main content

Grants, Foundations, and Scholarships

Try these first!

Databases & websites to identify funding opportunities

There are a number of publicly-available web sites you may want to explore to find out information about grants and scholarships.
 

Carnegie Corporation  Offers grants used to promote "international peace and the advancement of education and knowledge." Their current programs include Education, Democracy, Higher Education and Research in Africa, and International Peace and Security. This site offers information on these grants, along with information on how to apply, program guidelines, and general information about the Corporation.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA)  A database of all federal programs available to state and local governments and covers all types of federal assistance, not just financial aid and guaranteed loans.

Community of Science A global resource for hard-to-find funding information critical to scientific research and other projects across all disciplines. Requires an account. 

ED.gov Supported by the U.S. Department of Education, this web portal to federal resources for education is aimed primarily at undergraduates. It provides information on FAFSA (the standard application for Federal student aid) as well as a useful forecast for future funding opportunities.

IEFA.org The International Education Financial Aid website lists grants, scholarships, loan programs and other financial aid information for students who wish to study in a foreign country. You have to create an account to get the contact information for the funding you are interested in.

Grants for Individuals Organized by the Michigan State University Libraries, this webpage focuses on funding opportunities such as financial aid or scholarships for students. Searchable by academic level, population group, and subject.

Grants.gov Supported by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this is a central storehouse for information on over 1,000 grant programs awarding approximately $500 billion in annual awards.

GrantsNet is a database of funding opportunities for training in the biophysical, life, physical, and social sciences, as well as mathematics and engineering. It contains listings for programs that offer training and research funding for graduate and medical students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty as well as programs for undergraduates. GrantsNet is a free service but users must sign up for a password.

GRAPES Database (UCLA Graduate & Postdoctoral Extramural Support) Maintained by the UCLA Graduate Outreach, Diversity and Fellowships Office, contains information on over 500 private and publicly funded awards, fellowships, and internships. Advanced search options allow users to refind their search by field, academic level, awared type, amount, and other criteria. Designed for UCLA students, the site is open for public use.

Mendeley Funding from Mendeley, the reference management and research network software, this new tool collects funding opportunities from over 2000 organizations. Create a free account and search!

National Science Foundation (NSF) Active Funding Opportunities The NSF funds research and education through grants and cooperative agreements with more than 2,000 colleges, universities, K-12 school systems, and other research organizations. The NSF accounts for about one-fourth of the federal support to academic institutions for basic research.  SEE ALSO the NSF's Proposal and Award Policies and Procedures Guide and the NSF's FastLane System (an interactive real-time system used to communicate with researchers, reviewers, and research administrators and their organizations. Requires an NSF ID to log in.).

Peterson's has a free website for searching for undergraduate & graduate school scholarships.