This guide includes key references for Latin Americanist collections, journals, databases and webpages with anthropological content. It is offered as a supplement to the Anthropology guide; and it is designed for students in this field and in as well as students in Latin American studies who are searching for Latin American and/or Latin Americanist sources. UNM is a Title VI, National Resource Center for studies of Latin America. This means we have strong resources for research on the region. Use the table of contents to the left to navigate to various resources.
In this electronically charged research environment, we sometimes forget that the fastest way to the sources for research papers are right under our noses. Don’t forget about
1). Your course syllabus: believe it or not, this can be an invaluable source because it contains (in addition to assignments and due dates)
a. names of authors,
b. titles of books (which have well-thought out bibliographies)
c. titles or articles and journals
2). The bibliography in the book or article that got you interested in this topic: In addition to new ideas for further development and new vocabularies for keyword searches, these books and articles have lists called bibliographies with:
a. names of authors
b. titles of books (which have well-thought out bibliographies)
c. titles or articles and journals
Once you have an author’s name, search it in WorldCat and Google Scholar. Both can help you find works written by this author. WorldCat also links book authors with germane subject fields and article authors with the actual texts. Google Scholar can help you find related sources with its "Cited By" lists. Questions? Ask me!
Once you have titles of books, you can triangulate for additional sources via subject fields, call number locations, bibliographies and indexes. Questions? Ask me!
One you have the titles of articles, you can search them (in quotation marks) in WorldCat and Google for links to the text. Google Scholar can help you find more sources with its "Cited By" list. Questions? Ask me!
Once you have the name of an important journal, you can search the journal itself (click on “Essential Journals” to the left), browse a bit – see what interests you. Questions? Ask me!