Research Guides: Speech and Hearing Sciences: Articles, etc.

Key journals in Speech & Hearing Sciences

Journal databases related to Speech & Hearing Sciences

The databases below will help you to identify articles related to speech and hearing sciences topics (e.g. science and treatment of speech and hearing disorders, SHS application in education and psychology, etc.)

Linguistics/Language/Communications

LLBA - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This is the place to start! Covers research in linguistics, language, and the pathology of speech, language, and hearing. Contains abstracts to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and reviews of books and other media. 1973-present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A resource of scholarly journals, books, and dissertations with main topics including literature, linguistics, language studies, rhetoric, composition, drama, theory, criticism, teaching, and publishing. Coverage: 1920s-present.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and books covering the fields of communication, mass media, linguistics, and related fields. Coverage: 1900-present.

Multidisciplinary

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, proceedings, data sets, and other resources. Has a tool for citation analysis. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, among others.

Biomedical/Health

PubMed This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding research literature in medicine, nursing, and related fields. Includes extensive peer-reviewed journal content as well as books, conference publications, and datasets. Use the embedded MeSH controlled vocabulary for targeted searching.
Off campus must use the UNM Find Article icon to gain access to UNM subscriptions, and requires NetID and password.
Embase This link opens in a new window
A biomedical research literature database that is also useful in building comprehensive systematic reviews for evidence-based medicine decisions.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health literature and information, including evidence-based care sheets.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and full text access to information on the effects of interventions in health care. Includes systematic reviews of randomized controlled trials, summaries of systematic reviews, reports from health technology assessment organizations, economic evaluations of health care interventions, and more. Updated quarterly.

Psychology

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The best resource for psychology related topics in journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and reports. Published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Coverage: 1887-present.

Education

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals and magazines covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education on subjects including curriculum, administration, policy, multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) includes scholarly articles, reports, curriculum and teaching guides and conference papers covering multiple levels of education from preK to higher education.
It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the United States Department of Education. Provides a more robust search interface of the freely available ERIC database. Coverage: 1966-present.

Other Related Social Sciences Databases

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts database which focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1952-present.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Combines two major indexes: Harvard's Anthropological Literature and the UK's Anthropological Index. Citations to journal articles, reports, etc. Includes linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and related interdisciplinary studies. Coverage: 19th century-present. NOTE that there are no abstracts or full-text - so searches only
search titles and assigned keywords. Therefore, be broad when concocting your search terms!

Identifying Empirical Research Articles

Empirical research articles report on original research - they are the primary sources of science. Databases include empirical articles but they also include literature review articles, secondary analysis of others' research, theoretical articles, etc. In order to focus your search on empirical articles, check to see if the database has a methodology limiter (like PsycInfo) or an article type limiter (like PubMed) so you can tell the database to only search for these articles. Note that many databases do not have this option, so you may need to add keywords to your search in order to help you find them. Try adding words like: data, statistics, methods, variable, hypotheses, findings, quant*, qual*, experiment, interviews, intervention, n=, to your search or look for these words in the abstract.

Access free articles when you leave UNM....

Most of what is listed above are subscription resources that you will not be able to access when you are no longer affiliated with UNM. If you work in an institution that does not have access to these resources, there are others that are freely available that can provide you with access to scholarly journals. Some of these include:

PubMed Central
A subsection of PubMed with open access medical journals -- you can also search in the full PubMed to identify other articles that you may be able to obtain elsewhere.
New Mexico State Library "El Portal"

If you live in NM you can search this to find articles on any topic, including scholarly journal articles, many with full text.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including 250 education journals.
HighWire Press
Stanford University Libraries produces the online versions of high-impact, peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly content. Many of these are science/biomedical journals.
ERIC (US Dept. of Education) This is the free version that allows you to search and discover publications related to education and learning. Not all articles will be accessible, but you could request those that are not via other means.

Note: Google Scholar is useful for identifying articles, and some articles you find there will link to open access repository versions of the article, but there are also many articles you may not be able to access via Google Scholar once you leave the university. See below for tips on tools that may help you get access to articles you identify using Google Scholar.

There are also tools you can utilize such as:

Unpaywall
A Chrome/Firefox extension that connects you to a service that maintains a database of links to full-text articles from open-access sources all over the world. The content is harvested from legal sources including repositories run by universities, governments, and scholarly societies, as well as open content hosted by publishers themselves. Unpaywall focuses on providing greater access to several types of open content:
ResearchGate
A network of scholars, scientists, and researchers that you can join to share and discover research. Through it you can directly contact and access researchers and their publications.

Your local library's interlibrary loan service
Remember, your local public library may be able to get an article you find in Google Scholar or PubMed via their interlibrary loan service -- so check with them for more information.

Medical Texbooks/Ebooks

Access Medicine
E-books and e-resources including medical textbooks and reference books with information on drugs, diagnosis, etc. Includes videos on procedures as well as images. Great reference tool to understand disorders, diagnosis, etc.
STAT!Ref
Collection of e-textbooks in a variety of medical specialties including nursing.

Finding NONCOMMERCIAL psychological/educational tests/instruments

Identify and access the full text of tests/instruments via APA's PsycTests tool. If you don't find what you need there, visit our research guide on finding Psychological & Educational Tests & Measures for additional strategies and tools.

PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Thousands of test instruments (including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures, surveys and other assessments), as well as descriptive information about tests that were developed for research but not made commercially available (i.e. unpublished tests).
50% of entries contain the actual test. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). Coverage: 1910-present.

Learning about Research Methods

Sage Research Methods (SRM) Core This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 research methods ebooks, articles, case studies, and videos from Sage and other sources provide guidance on the process for conducting qualitative and quantitative research (e.g. research design, interviewing, focus groups, regression analysis, models, advanced statistics).