Skip to main content

Library News Room

Over 180,000 downloads from the UNM Digital Repository

by Patricia Campbell on 2017-08-11T14:00:54-06:00 in Library

The UNM Digital Repository recently underwent a significant transformation during a year-long project to migrate to a new system in Digital Commons a product of Bepress. Over 35,000 items reside in the UNM Digital Repository representing campus-wide scholarly work as well as administrative records and history.  The UNM Digital Repository is a showcase for UNM scholarship to be seen and downloaded widely.  This year there were over 180,000 downloads of UNM work by scholars world-wide.

The Digital Repository is a shared platform managed by University Libraries, Law Library and Health Science Library and Informatics Center. Each library works with their faculty, staff and students to encourage the use of the Repository and to assist with uploading and managing scholars output.

The UNM Digital Repository includes UNM student theses and dissertations, faculty articles and scholarly works, research data sets, and university historical records. The repository also hosts a large variety of open access online journals, ebooks from UNM Press, open educational resources, and hosted collections from other New Mexico educational and cultural institutions.

The UNM Law makes available annual reports, teaching materials, and select court proceedings while highlighting faculty and student scholarship. Student-edited journals New Mexico Law Review and Natural Resources Journal are uniquely branded, fully searchable, and published in the Digital Repository; United States-Mexico Law Journal, published 1993-2005, is open-access for the first time.

The Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center ensures the research and scholarship representing the entirety of departments and educational programs in the health sciences is available, including unique collections pertaining to administrative records and local collections.

The new system provides:

Accurate, visually compelling analytics that prove global impact.

From live readership maps to detailed, exportable analytics that filter down to individual authors and all the way up to the entire institution, bepress makes it possible to track and report on the difference your work is making around the world.
Industry-leading search engine optimization for academia

What’s the value of scholarship that stays hidden? Increasing and demonstrating the impact of scholarship is more important for academic communities than ever. Your work is fully indexed and turns up near the top of academic and general search results.

Secure storage to meet preservation needs

Your work is protected with a secure infrastructure that includes multiple backups, cloud storage with Amazon Glacier, and options for even more on-demand control and preservation. Open standards (OAI-PMH) and complete institutional ownership give you an escape route, so you can transfer scholarship off the platform if and when you need to.

The UNM Digital Repository is constantly growing, and new resources are being added every day. Scholars and departments interested in adding their work should email disc@unm.edu or visit the website (digitalrepository.unm.edu) for more information.


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Recent Posts



Outstanding Research Award Presented to OI&LS Team by POD Network
Historical Issues of The Tamarind Papers now available in UNM's Digital Repository.
Lithography enthusiasts and inquiring readers can now access volumes 1 to 13 of The Tamarind Papers on UNM's Digital Repository.
SOMETHING OLD, NUEVO, BORROWED, AZUL: Doubloons from Latin American collections (9/17)
This monthly blog post from UNM Libraries’ Latin American Collections for September offers up a two escudo (a colonial Spanish gold coin) on new and old materials in Latin American collections and their use.
What Not To Read: Book Censorship in Early Modern Europe
Do you research like a pirate?

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...