Skip to main content

Library News Room

Help us Evaluate SCOPUS as an Alternative to Web of Science

by David Hurley on 2017-05-10T21:30:00-06:00 in Scholar Resources, Library

SCOPUS - Largest abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature

We Need Your Input

The University Libraries and the Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center are in the process of evaluating SCOPUS an alternative to the Web of Science databases that has the potential for significant savings.  As the budget for higher education (including library collections) continue to decline, we have to aggressively investigate where savings can be made. 

Moving from Web of Science to SCOPUS, a similar tool, may allow us to minimize the cuts we will have to make to books, journals, and databases.

For more information about SCOPUS, see our SCOPUS Details guide.  
For more information about Web of Science, see our Web of Science Details guide.

We recognize the importance that Web of Science has to researchers, and we are not considering this potential change lightly. We have organized two trials of the SCOPUS database so you will have an opportunity to test it and provide feedback. The first ran from May 10th to June 20th and many of you sent us valuable feedback. The current trial will run from September 1st to October 15th.

It is critical that you tell us what you think of SCOPUS as an alternative to Web of Science so we can make the best decision for the entire campus.

Please direct feedback or questions to your librarian, or to librarytrial@unm.edu.

Once you have explored both databases, please respond to our survey

Access SCOPUS Trial

Access Web of Science.

Complete our survey.


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Recent Posts



Outstanding Research Award Presented to OI&LS Team by POD Network
Historical Issues of The Tamarind Papers now available in UNM's Digital Repository.
Lithography enthusiasts and inquiring readers can now access volumes 1 to 13 of The Tamarind Papers on UNM's Digital Repository.
SOMETHING OLD, NUEVO, BORROWED, AZUL: Doubloons from Latin American collections (9/17)
This monthly blog post from UNM Libraries’ Latin American Collections for September offers up a two escudo (a colonial Spanish gold coin) on new and old materials in Latin American collections and their use.
What Not To Read: Book Censorship in Early Modern Europe
Do you research like a pirate?

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...